Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 12-15-2018, 05:09 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,282
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I mean bug fixes that make it possible for Avid to support new OS
Don’t mean to jump on you but IMHO that would be a given as DAW devs Need to stay current with OS as users buy new computers and sometimes forced to update to get certain apps to work properly. Again no offence Janne
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-15-2018, 05:29 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,693
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Yea, opinions do vary. In my book supporting a new OS is a feature
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-15-2018, 07:28 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 39
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

No offense taken. I agree, and it's frustrating. But I've also worked in big companies, where the various departments aren't really in sync regarding promises and the reality once you "get under the hood". Maybe if Pro Tools was still a Digidesign product - meaning that the company making it was devoting ALL of their resources to the program - things would be different. I dunno. Given how many bug fixes recently address hardware issues (especially in the big control surfaces) it feels sometimes like the priority is still on monetizing physical product over software.


Quote:
Originally Posted by marsian View Post
Why do so many people have excuses for Avid?
I think when a company is making promises and can't keep them, it's simply not right. There can be problems and maybe some things can't be done easily, but that's a wild guess.

(no offense massivekerry)
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-16-2018, 05:26 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 118
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
No offense taken. I agree, and it's frustrating. But I've also worked in big companies, where the various departments aren't really in sync regarding promises and the reality once you "get under the hood". Maybe if Pro Tools was still a Digidesign product - meaning that the company making it was devoting ALL of their resources to the program - things would be different. I dunno. Given how many bug fixes recently address hardware issues (especially in the big control surfaces) it feels sometimes like the priority is still on monetizing physical product over software.
I can understand that, but when you make a big show with ACA and tell the users, that you are trying hard to be a user driven company, it's very disappointing when only a fraction of the features come true, that have been voted for and have been locked in for development (in a certain timeframe) by Avid.

Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-16-2018, 06:41 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mιtis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 522
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
As far as I remember, Avid promised constant development and compatibility releases (bug fixes) are kind of new features. I'm not defending Avid here, but in my book it is just like that. The #1 feature I'm looking for in the 2019.1 is Mojave support. Not guaranteed they can make it though, but High Sierra is now done so that's the next step.

I want stability of PT 8.1.1 back



I do not agree. In addition I am in PC!

Development, as Avid announced, is not that. In the industry as a whole, and among competitors, that's not it either. Ultimately, this can be included. But nobody understands "development" as adaptation to the new OS. Mojave, or Windows 10, 11 or 24, I do not care. I want developments for my creative tool, developments that look a little towards what the competitors are doing and that give new possibilities and facilities.



A simple example among 100? Several marker tracks, with different functions (information, lyrics, structure, notes, etc.). It's not a mountain of programming. And the ability to move multiple markers at the same time (instead of copy-and-paste). It's not asking for the moon. I would also like to know, when I'm on track zoom, if the groups are active, just by looking at my dashboard at the top. It would be a "G" next to the "S" and the "M" solo and mute. Then automatic solos on the chosen track. Then move with a shortcut a clip up or down, again years copy and paste. There are 96 examples.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.8, Cubase 9.5, Samplitude Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1650v2
3.50 GHz 48,0 Go

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-16-2018, 07:39 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,918
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
Several marker tracks, with different functions (information, lyrics, structure, notes, etc.). It's not a mountain of programming. And the ability to move multiple markers at the same time (instead of copy-and-paste). It's not asking for the moon.
Those are all good ideas
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-16-2018, 11:06 AM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 212
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

I understand that Avid's been squashing bugs. I also understand that other major DAWs have been squashing bugs as well each update.
The difference? I pay $400 bucks a year for Pro Tools' bug fixes.
But some will say, hey, "they've released new features each year".
But alas, other DAWs have released new features as well!

I've used Pro Tools since the early 90s, along with Studio Vision and eventually MOTU's DP for midi programming. When PT eventually integrated midi, it became my main DAW.

But PT days are numbered, AFAIC. My subscription is due in March. If there are no new significant features or change in subscription rate then I, along with others here, will also not renew it.

Just too expensive to pay for beta testing Avid's "Ultimate" DAW.
__________________
PT 2018.12
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X 10.13.6

Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-16-2018, 11:12 AM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
How is a ”Bug Fix” a Feature ... ?!!

Never has anyone claimed a bug fix to be a feature .. just an opinion here.
that reminds me of an old cartoon about Win 95 (remember that old chestnut) which went along the lines...

R&D department to CEO: Sir we have 4500 bugs in this OS we cant release it yet....
CEO: No we have the best new OS with 4500 new features.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.12, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-16-2018, 12:08 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinky View Post
I understand that Avid's been squashing bugs. I also understand that other major DAWs have been squashing bugs as well each update.
I wish they would squash that "CPU overload" creepy crawler which seems to have crawled back for me in the 2018.10 update.... made worst for me that the desk I run PT through has a max 48k sample rate and changing the HW buffer size has no effect. Even when you select that ignore errors during playback/record doesn't seem to help at all.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.12, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-16-2018, 12:24 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: 2018.12 No new features?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
I wish they would squash that "CPU overload" creepy crawler which seems to have crawled back for me in the 2018.10 update.... made worst for me that the desk I run PT through has a max 48k sample rate and changing the HW buffer size has no effect. Even when you select that ignore errors during playback/record doesn't seem to help at all.
Hate to Quote myself...... But!!! just read this in the sys requirements page...

ALERT: macOS High Sierra version 10.13.6 now supported on Pro Tools 2018.12
Pro Tools 2018.12 includes fixes that resolve the performance problems that were occurring
at lower buffer sizes on macOS High Sierra versions 10.13.4-10.13.6. If you are unable to run
Pro Tools 2018.12, and you must use 10.13.4-10.13.6. then make sure to avoid lower buffer
sizes (64 samples or lower at 48kHz, 128 samples or lower at 96kHz, 256 samples at 192kHz)


So better download the new update..... if this is fixed I will be a happy lil chappy in a crappyless nappy..
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.12, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2018.4 to 2018.7 upgrade advice and experience chuckwow Pro Tools 2018 6 09-21-2018 11:09 AM
Macbook Pro 2018 w/ UAD Apollo 8p and PT 2018.7 Performance Issues Dudiester Pro Tools 2018 5 08-12-2018 08:33 AM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
HD features on 2018 LE? caldorisio Post - Surround - Video 9 04-04-2018 08:25 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com