Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-07-2017, 11:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,209
Default Trying to use Eleven Rack with Skype

Oops sorry Rig Out (4), not Line in I'll exit my post.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-07-2017, 03:33 PM
needled39 needled39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 14
Default Re: Trying to use Eleven Rack with Skype

The screen shots I took show all the possible options showing up for Windows and Skype (I can't scroll down more, what you see in the pictures is what is available). Unfortunately it does not show "mic in" or any of the typical inputs that pop up in Pro Tools. Just the one vague Eleven Rack output.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-07-2017, 05:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,209
Default Re: Trying to use Eleven Rack with Skype

The Windows Sound recording tab is showing a scroll bar slider. Are you saying that that Control panel UI is broken and when you move the scroll bar nothing moves up/down? (Could well be I've never noticed that in Windows).

And basic info I may have missed: What version of Windows are you on? On what computer?

You are beyond where I would just give up. Its not clear what you want to do with Skype, for most stuff any cheap dynamic mic plugged into Mic input on the PC audio card will be the easiest thing to set up.

If you want to persist with the Eleven Rack start by working out what exact input of 8 possible ones you have that is showing up and if that even works.

I would also try as a test, upgrading to the latest Eleven Rack driver and seeing if more IO shows up (ye I know that may stop PT 8 working, just a test but). I forget how what exactly Avid support for the Eleven Rack with Windows Audio vs. ASIO drivers and don't have a system handy to poke around in to see.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-07-2017 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:48 AM
needled39 needled39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 14
Default Re: Trying to use Eleven Rack with Skype

The skype screen shot is the one that showed all possible options. As for windows, these are the options when scrolled down:

No 'mic in' for the Eleven Rack.

And you're right I missed those questions in my last response:

Windows 7 Ultimate w service pack 1; Computer is a desktop PC (an origin PC I built specifically to use for recording, pretty powerful, a little old though, 2012 is when I bough it).

I'm definitely to the point of giving up; or at least accepting that I need to purchase a 3rd party program OR additional hardware to get this working.

I'm doing a radio interview (a week from Monday) via skype and they require that I use a high quality mic rather than a webcam or phone to get high quality audio for the interview... Maybe I can just use my Sennheiser dynamic Microphone and plug directly into my sound card mic in- that would just require me to get an XLR to 1/4" cable which would be way less $ and work than getting another audio interface.

Thanks for the advice, I think we've at least exhausted the possibilities on this one at this point. I might try the driver again also. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check out the Eleven Rack Presets Matched for Eleven plugins by Pro Tools Expert! Justin1524 Eleven Rack 0 11-27-2015 03:53 PM
Eleven Rack / Avid is not producing anymore Eleven Racks is that true or false? Rongpat Eleven Rack 8 02-11-2014 08:42 AM
Eleven rack with skype etc etc tedats Eleven Rack 0 04-27-2013 05:46 PM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 07:50 PM
Eleven Rack and Eleven Rack control window not matching 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 3 04-18-2012 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com