Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-25-2016, 10:25 PM
Brockley Brockley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Default Re: Solution to not enough USB ports on Macbook pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Or $45, like the one I gave you a link to.
Definitely appreciate the help Mesaone, but from what I can tell, that device in the link is USB. I do get the jist of what direction you're pointing me though and thanks for you're help!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-25-2016, 10:58 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: Solution to not enough USB ports on Macbook pro?

Hmm, so you are correct. When I looked up the model, everything indicated it was thunderbolt. Sorry about that.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Silverbox: RME Babyface, Win8.1, i7 4700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2016, 07:21 AM
Brockley Brockley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Default Re: Solution to not enough USB ports on Macbook pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Absolutely, thats how we have been doing it for two years on the hotelrooms and we even mix songs on the plane like that. Also we have even used 2 SSD drives from the hub and ilok and keyboard and mouse and a midi interface plus an extra ball mouse so you would save money and still have good resources there.
Thanks a lot for the help, still funny that I'll be using a USB hub with two empty thunderbolt ports sitting there, but this seems like the most cost effective solution. I also read, just to back up what you're saying, that if the devices you're plugging in are USB2, then there is plenty of bandwidth to support a few of them on a USB3 hub because of how much faster USB3 is
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ilok2 not recognised on macbook Pro USB 3 ports Samba Pro Tools 11 Discussion 6 02-22-2014 03:27 PM
How to configure USB ports on MacBook Pro? patspahr9 Getting Started 8 12-12-2013 04:48 PM
Unibody MacBook Pro - both USB ports OK for audio? Richard901 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-30-2009 10:06 AM
macbook/macbook pro buffer problems, solution therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 05:07 PM
SOLUTION! Digi001 midi ports with Cubase, DP or Logic! Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-25-2000 05:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com