Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2017, 03:10 AM
Ryanhardt Ryanhardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 1
Default Protools Keeps Hanging at Startup

Hello

Every time I start PT12.6 it hangs at the startup menu. If I close it and run it again it states that I have reboot my computer because PT crashed.

It happened before once or twice. It worked fine for a bit but then this started again. I have installed nothing since then.

Any advice?

Ryan

HP Envy Edition Laptop
Windows 10
Processor : INtel Core i7-4700MQ CPY @ 2.40Ghz
RAM : 8.00 GB DDR3
64-Bit OS
DAW : Protools 12 Perpetual (12.6) HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2017, 04:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,604
Default Re: Protools Keeps Hanging at Startup

Audio interface?
Have you done all optimizations? There's one that people sometimes miss and that's to go into the BIOS and turn off the floppy drive. More likely than not you don't have one but by default Windows thinks you do and that can mess with PT.

Also, and this is a dumb one, but make sure your iLok2 is plugged into a working USB port. Again another Windows default is to turn off power to USB ports when it senses they're not in sue for some unknown period of time. Go into Windows control panel and turn off ALL power savings measures.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2017, 10:46 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Protools Keeps Hanging at Startup

Welcome to the forum!

Please take a look at the Help Us Help You thread, where you will find general set-up, optimization and troubleshooting information for Pro Tools. If you continue to have issues, please feel free to post in the forums and I'm sure someone here can help.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools First hanging on startup hatusage Pro Tools | First Discussion 8 12-24-2015 06:38 AM
PT 12 hanging on startup. mikegav_in Pro Tools 12 Discussion 1 05-13-2015 03:31 AM
PT LE8 Hanging On first Startup steevo605 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-08-2009 01:45 AM
Hanging on Startup...until... Severe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-10-2004 11:10 PM
startup hanging, various errors davidp158 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-30-2001 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com