Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2020, 07:39 AM
Ride2 Ride2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 11
Default Frozen files

I didn´t find a good explanation from a ref guide or from here, how PT is handling frozen files. I was understanding, that after you unfreeze a track, PT automatically deletes rendered file. However, it seems, that that is not a case. PT keeps those files in rendered files-folder. As I understood from some posts here, this is a future....not a bug. There were a explanations to this feaature, but I didn't fully understood the reason, why PT keeps these files. In a complex session, the rendered files-folder can become a very large and fill up my SSD-drive.
Ok, probably there is a good reason for this. In that case, there should be at least to be a way to manually delete those files. But I am not aware, how to do it. I can see all rendered files in finder, but not in workspace-window. Workspace is only showing the active files in a session, but not old versions.
So, am I missing now something or is this really the way it should work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2020, 07:46 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,407
Default Re: Frozen files

You can always remove files by yourself, better that way and not let software decide you want it removed. On the clip list on right, there is a right-click option to select unused and then you can remove from session or delete from storage.

Few files shouldn't be a problem given today's storage capacity. IMO it is just good the commit files are left over in case I decide to use them after all. So this is just basic file management you should learn anyway.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2020, 08:17 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 863
Default Re: Frozen files

The simple reason is for Undo. You unfreeze a track accidentally and want to re-freeze it. But now one of the plugins is no longer on the system. If the freeze had to be recalculated it wouldn't work with the missing plugin. Some people freeze tracks, then move to another system. So while this is scenario is not common, it is not an isolated situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ride2 View Post
I didn´t find a good explanation from a ref guide or from here, how PT is handling frozen files. I was understanding, that after you unfreeze a track, PT automatically deletes rendered file. However, it seems, that that is not a case. PT keeps those files in rendered files-folder. As I understood from some posts here, this is a future....not a bug. There were a explanations to this feaature, but I didn't fully understood the reason, why PT keeps these files. In a complex session, the rendered files-folder can become a very large and fill up my SSD-drive.
Ok, probably there is a good reason for this. In that case, there should be at least to be a way to manually delete those files. But I am not aware, how to do it. I can see all rendered files in finder, but not in workspace-window. Workspace is only showing the active files in a session, but not old versions.
So, am I missing now something or is this really the way it should work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2020, 09:11 AM
Ride2 Ride2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 11
Default Re: Frozen files

Well, there is no option to select unused files. Just to select all. So, I don't find any way in workstation-window to see or select unused files. I can see or select just active files.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2020, 09:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,407
Default Re: Frozen files

This is a RTFM thing but okay, I'll bite...

On your Edit Window, the Clip List is on the right. There is a triangle for your options. Click it, hover to Select, then choose Unused.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2020, 10:02 AM
Ride2 Ride2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 11
Default Re: Frozen files

I am sorry....I understand your frustration, but are you really saying, that edit windows clip-list is the place, where should make FZ.wav rendered files management? Whatever I do, I really don't find any of those frozen files from that list.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2020, 10:18 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,407
Default Re: Frozen files

That way you can find any audio file that:
a) is in the clip list
b) is not used in the timeline
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2020, 10:44 AM
Ride2 Ride2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 11
Default Re: Frozen files

Well, whatever I do, those frozen files doesn't exist in edit windows clip-list. Maybe I am missing some point now. I really though, that management of the frozen files should done in workspace-window. I have to come back to this tomorrow with better time. Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2020, 06:09 AM
Ride2 Ride2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 11
Default Re: Frozen files

Please, could someone concentrate to this issue once more.
I really can't find any word from manual about how PT handles frozen files.
Edit windows clip-list DOES NOT show frozen files....I am 99% sure about it. Of course there can be error, bug etc, but whatever I do, in my system those FZ.wav files are not visible. On the other hand, the list shows Commit files (cm.wav) just fine.
But back to the original problem. Why Workspace window shows only active rendered fz.wav files? As I wrote erlier, the active files are visible, but old ones (not active) are not. Those old ones are however visible with finder...so they are there for sure. Could someone try this and after own experience, write a proper way to handle unused frozen files.
I understand this undo-feature and why PT keeps old frozen files. However, it would be nice to have also option for automatic "delete unused freeze files" function.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2020, 12:12 AM
Ride2 Ride2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 11
Default Re: Frozen files

Anybody....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rendered Frozen Files Missing Jon_Atkinson Pro Tools 12 8 08-24-2018 10:00 PM
Missing frozen files marcodeangelis Pro Tools 12 0 04-04-2016 10:10 AM
Frozen files missing when reopening session (12.4 only) electrodaddy Pro Tools 12 0 01-19-2016 03:12 AM
Where are my frozen files? ripekeai Pro Tools 12 6 12-29-2015 02:55 PM
A Workaround to Edit Frozen Files Wall2Wall Pro Tools 12 1 12-27-2015 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com