Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2007, 12:18 AM
Todd H Todd H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Hardware IO options on Digi 002 Rack

Hey all,

Perhaps someone can help me with routing for the addition of a hardware reverb/delay. I'm running Pt 7.3.1cs5 on a 002 Rack. I've got my Apogee Rosetta 200 on SPIDIF running pt as the clock and also using the D/A and A/D to run the stereo mix through outboard mastering compression and eq and back in through the Apogee. This is all while I'm mixing. The session is 24bit/96k.

I'm interested in using an Eventide H7600 as an outboard reverb/delay unit mostly for vocals. Obviously the best way to connect would be digitally. But I've already got the Apogee using the SPIDIF to clock and run audio. The ADAT lightpipe doesn't operate while the SPPIDIF is in use or above 24/48 I read somewhere. I like the sound so much better when I clock through the Apogee.

Am I really only left with analog I/Os for outboard FX if I use SPIDIF for the Apogee clock and IOs? Somebody make me feel better. Will it sound bad to reconvert through the digi analog IO.

What say you?

Thanks!

Todd H.
Mag G5 Dual 2.5ghz
Mac OSX 10.4.9 PT 7.3.1cs5
Digi 002 Rack
Apogee Rosetta 200 A/D - D/A
Drawmer 1961 Tube EQ
Drawmer 1969 Tube Compressor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2007, 09:41 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Hardware IO options on Digi 002 Rack

You're right about all of your assumptions in using the digital i/o. If you want to use it for the apogee, it won't be available to use for a reverb at 96/24. Whether the analog i/o is going to ruin the integrity of the reverb you're using would be purely opinion. Personally, it wouldn't bother me. Reverb is a pretty minor part of mixing for me. Give it a try and see how it sounds to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2007, 08:30 AM
Todd H Todd H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Hardware IO options on Digi 002 Rack

Thanks Shawn!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2007, 09:02 AM
stoneinapond stoneinapond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: ny
Posts: 993
Default Re: Hardware IO options on Digi 002 Rack

Also remember, that high-end hardware is often designed around the converters, so that in some cases the unit sounds better functioning in the analog domain than via digital.

I have found that to be true of the Roland R800, the Lexicon PCM 80 (not really high-end but not low-end either) and even the Kurzweil 2500RS synthesizer/sampler.

All sound more "organic" if you will, via analog.

Reverb and effects are very important for me in the mixing process.

P.S. I realize that the above scenario must use the Digidesign converters for effects return. In the case of reverb, I do not find that an issue. I do however, fully concur concerning the sound of the Apogee.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digi 002 rack with windows 7/64 options? timjustindodd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 10-26-2014 04:15 PM
Digi 003 Rack Hardware Not Recognized Mac OSX EspressoSosso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-22-2014 01:37 PM
Digi 002 Rack Hardware Problems WinnipegZX3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-23-2006 12:47 PM
digi 02 rack hardware problem supafuzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-02-2005 05:38 PM
Cant find hardware win XP Digi 002 Rack recordingguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-22-2004 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com