Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-04-2017, 05:43 PM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default Re: For mastering - multiple mono or interleaved?

I've had some post houses request mono files rather than interleaved because it gives them total control in re ordering tracks as they deem necessary when creating DCP's etc.
I have to say it makes me nervous!
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7970 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-18-2020, 03:40 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 335
Default Re: For mastering - multiple mono or interleaved?

Multiple mono does give one the ability to adjust levels as between left and right, where if for some reason during the recording process one side came in hotter than the other, or something like that.

I kind of makes me nervous too, but a lot of thing do. : ) I'm getting better. And if you can line them up sample accurate, which is normal, then all should be cool, right?

I dunno.


Best,

mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-18-2020, 07:44 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,360
Default Re: For mastering - multiple mono or interleaved?

A null test would be interesting
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT exports stereo interleaved AND multiple mono - why?? jkatcher macOS 5 06-25-2015 05:46 AM
stereo interleaved or multiple mono to send for pre-master? grendizer Pro Tools 10 15 12-15-2011 04:26 AM
Stereo Interleaved vs Multi Mono studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-09-2009 12:20 AM
Converting multiple mono to stereo interleaved danielpetry Tips & Tricks 1 01-05-2007 09:58 PM
Quickest way to get from dual mono to interleaved Neale Eckstein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-18-2003 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com