Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2014, 06:48 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

I'm just itching to get this... But I don't need it, that ground is already pretty well covered - I already have the Summit Grand channel, T-Racks EQ 1A, and even Nomad Pulse-Tec (even thought it's not AAX now and might not ever be). I demoed it back in the day, but I perished the thought of purchasing since it was so expensive. But now it's $185, and I'm reconsidering. I also have weekly access to hardware CL-1B and PE-1C units, but as we all know there's nothing like the convenience of plug-ins.

For those of you who have it, do you find that it has a place in your day-to-day operations? It sounds silly, but I'd like someone to either talk me into it or talk me out of it.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2014, 07:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,970
Default Re: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

My 2 cents, but the CL1-B alone is worth the price to me
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2014, 07:32 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

More so than other compressors? I have some great selections for that type of push-pull compression - a penny for your thoughts.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2014, 01:50 AM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 993
Default Re: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

The comp is great, but I find the program eq hard to use. Always sounds soggy to me.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2014, 02:28 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 632
Default Re: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

Always had my eye on that one. It seems to get mentioned quite a bit. I think partly because the hardware did the Pultec thing before plugins started doing that
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2014, 10:23 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,775
Default Re: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

The cl1b is my first go to vocal comp every time. May not keep it, but it's where I start. I love it. The eq's are hit and miss. I do like their high end though most anytime.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2014, 12:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,970
Default Re: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel

Admittedly, I use SMACK! a lot more, but the CL1-B is very good and almost always part of my mastering chain
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
softube Classic Channel jackdog Buy & Sell 0 08-10-2014 03:52 AM
WTB Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Licence Trent W. Buy & Sell 4 03-18-2014 11:51 PM
WTB: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel or components RaySoul Buy & Sell 0 02-14-2014 12:57 PM
Softube Tube Tech Classic Channel... Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 05-15-2012 04:11 AM
Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 10-02-2009 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com