Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2009, 02:45 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,412
Default Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

Hi,

Softube have released a native version of the CL-1B, its a slightly modded version of the TDM and TC version, this version has side-chain and operates in stereo. but has the exact same algo's under the hood.


http://www.softube.se/tubetech_cl1b.php

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:20 AM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 363
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

I own the hardware version. It's amazing...
Do you think the software version is in the same ballpark?
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Apple Mac Pro (Mid 2010)
2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10.7.5 with 10 GB RAM
Blue 192 i/o w/ Two 888/24's in Legacy Port
Magma PE6R4 Chassis
C/24 Control Surface
HD 5 Accel, PT 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:08 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,412
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTooler View Post
I own the hardware version. It's amazing...
Do you think the software version is in the same ballpark?
Hi,

I also have the hardware version and it is almost identical!! i tried lots of settings and duplicated them on the hardware and plugin and the results were about 99% the same. the distortion was a bit different with fast release times, but quite a small difference.

i inserted 100 and it took 20% of my 2.8ghz 8-core with 7 processors set for RTAS.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:34 AM
SOUNDDECISION SOUNDDECISION is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 294
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

I have the TC version and its amazing !! Sold my hardware version after getting the plug in. Are you sure its the same algorthm as TC? How did they get that. The TC version was a lot more money. Tho With the TDM version you can actually use it as a tracking compressor!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2009, 08:07 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,412
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOUNDDECISION View Post
I have the TC version and its amazing !! Sold my hardware version after getting the plug in. Are you sure its the same algorthm as TC? How did they get that. The TC version was a lot more money. Tho With the TDM version you can actually use it as a tracking compressor!!
Yes the same version! Softube coded it for TC and the TDM version! same algo's. I'll still keep my hardware version! i haven't tried tracking with any version and not sure it would still give me that sound i like when tracking. i like to compress coming in to the converters as well.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2009, 09:53 AM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 363
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

Does anybody know if it'll run on a PPC?
Their compatibility statement isn't real clear to me.
Thanks....
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Apple Mac Pro (Mid 2010)
2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10.7.5 with 10 GB RAM
Blue 192 i/o w/ Two 888/24's in Legacy Port
Magma PE6R4 Chassis
C/24 Control Surface
HD 5 Accel, PT 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2009, 10:47 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,412
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTooler View Post
Does anybody know if it'll run on a PPC?
Their compatibility statement isn't real clear to me.
Thanks....

Mac OS 10.4 (or higher) on a G4 or Intel CPU (or higher)
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2009, 05:10 PM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 363
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

I just got a prompt reply from their tech support saying that they recommend at least 10.4.11.
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Apple Mac Pro (Mid 2010)
2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10.7.5 with 10 GB RAM
Blue 192 i/o w/ Two 888/24's in Legacy Port
Magma PE6R4 Chassis
C/24 Control Surface
HD 5 Accel, PT 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:30 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOUNDDECISION View Post
I have the TC version and its amazing !! Sold my hardware version after getting the plug in. Are you sure its the same algorthm as TC? How did they get that. The TC version was a lot more money. Tho With the TDM version you can actually use it as a tracking compressor!!
Hi,

Sorry for being a bit late to the party. I happened to move to anew apartment yesterday at the same time as the release...

As crizdee said, Softube made the TC version so it's the exact same algorithm and it should sound exactly the same. We're very happy to finally being able to offer it under the Softube brand.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2009, 06:51 AM
2fly 2fly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Default Re: Tube-Tech CL-1B PLugin for $329 from Softube

I got it. It's very good indeed.
__________________
Alan
http://www.2flystudios.com
G5 2.5ppc, 4gb ram, OSX 10.5.8, PT8.0.1cs4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Licence Trent W. Buy & Sell 4 03-19-2014 12:51 AM
WTB: Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel or components RaySoul Buy & Sell 0 02-14-2014 01:57 PM
Softube Tube Tech Classic Channel... Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 05-15-2012 05:11 AM
New Tube-Tech CL 1B plugin for HD ! Dutchmuzik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 03-29-2007 04:21 PM
Tube Tech MEC 1A - your opinion? Kuba Pietrzak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-03-2002 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com