Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 12 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2017, 03:57 AM
bucha bucha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Paris France
Posts: 34
Default BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

A small pic is better than a big speech (also available in PT 12.7.0, tested in Native and HDx) :

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2017, 04:38 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 938
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

can't tell from the small pic. Maybe I'm getting old.

Is the pan line drawn above offset toward center from right yet your seeing a complete move to the right side?

C
__________________
PT 12.7.1 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2017, 05:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 14,849
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

Does it work differently in earlier versions? All I can see is panning from left to right in LCR realm, in which case the middle of the transition would be full center.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2017, 08:13 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 556
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

That looks fine to me. What's the problem? There won't be an overlap between left and right.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2017, 08:30 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 268
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

It doesn't seem to match up perfectly. The result appears to be centre only for a while before the automation of the pan actually gets there. But it's hard to see from the waveform. It looks a little off to my eye though
__________________
PT12.4 - HDX - OMNI ---- MacOS 10.12.1 - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ---- AJA Kona LHi PCIe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2017, 08:50 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 556
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

I just did it in 12.4 and it looks pretty much the same
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2017, 03:55 AM
bucha bucha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Paris France
Posts: 34
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

Sorry guys,

So the selection ends where the pan is at 0.
It begins at 19 on the left.
So, on the recording track, we should have sound on the left channel until the 0 position (and the decay should be linear ??).
It's pretty much the same thing on the right channel.
This "bug" remains for all the multi channel tracks from LCR to 7.1.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2017, 05:27 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 556
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

Hmm. Yes I just tried this in PT 10 and it is working correctly. My Selection is the same as yours. Beginning at 19 and ending at 0.

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.ph...31at122421.png
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2017, 06:46 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,643
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

From an older thread : http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=282160
that includes this link : http://www.pharoahaudio.com/pannerautotest.html ,
it seems, that the more breakpoints are around the 0 degree area, the better.

But it is tedious to put those additional breakpoints in (via insertion near center and write-to-all-enabled and only Pan enabled in the Automation Window).

My test in PT 11.3.1 (maybe valid for PT 12 as well):



__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 01-31-2017 at 07:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2017, 07:21 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,643
Default Re: BIG PAN Bug in PT12.5.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by garret View Post
Hmm. Yes I just tried this in PT 10 and it is working correctly. My Selection is the same as yours. Beginning at 19 and ending at 0.

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.ph...31at122421.png
Out of interest : if there is no signal generator as insert on the track, but a consolidated audio clip of the noise, is it still correct ?
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opening oversized PT12 HD session in non-HD PT12? mjpatey Pro Tools 12 Discussion 6 01-10-2017 10:25 AM
PT12.5 GUI Lag Trent W. Pro Tools 12 Discussion 0 04-15-2016 02:03 PM
Is there an upgrade from PT12 to PT12 HD? Hot Banana Studio Licensing & Accounts 16 11-21-2015 01:13 PM
PT12 and PT12 HD surround? theom Pro Tools 12 Discussion 17 10-12-2015 09:27 AM
No PT12 available giacomopasquali Pro Tools 12 Discussion 9 05-12-2015 04:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com