Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2013, 08:06 PM
MUSIKxDRUMR MUSIKxDRUMR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 30
Default Headphone Monitoring when recording via X32

I'm using a Behringer X32 console for a live recording into Pro Tools 10 via MacBook Pro. Everything is working great, but I'm hitting a wall trying to monitor headphones. Is there a way I can set Pro Tools output to simply use the headphone out on my MacBook Pro while still receiving the X32 inputs? Please help. It would be really nice to hear what I'm recording. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2013, 09:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,296
Default Re: Headphone Monitoring when recording via X32

That may be possible if you setup for aggregate(which uses any/all available IO). Can you not route the mix back to a pair of channels on the x32?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2013, 10:10 PM
MUSIKxDRUMR MUSIKxDRUMR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Headphone Monitoring when recording via X32

I don't think routing a mix back to the X32 isn't an option to my knowledge because I'm using all 32 channels on the input side. I'm not familiar with aggregate. Can you please explain how this could work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2013, 10:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,296
Default Re: Headphone Monitoring when recording via X32

I'm not a Mac user so I can't help with aggregate. I will email a friend that uses the same desk and see if I can get help to pass on.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2013, 03:11 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,296
Default Re: Headphone Monitoring when recording via X32

Register the X32 and go to their forum with this question. You will likely get an answer within a few minutes as their support is pretty stellar.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2013, 07:32 PM
SteveGam SteveGam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: Headphone Monitoring when recording via X32

The easiest way to do this is to assign all the channels to the stereo bus (press the To Stereo) button on every channel, plug your phones into the x32 and turn it up. Another way would be to assign protools stereo bus out to one of the x32's aux inputs or stereo fx returns as their inputs can be patched to the FireWire card (or Usb). You may be using all 32 mic ins but there are 8 aux ins on the read panel that can be repatched to the FireWire or USB bus for your returns. I have not tried it but you may be able to repatch a matrix to a FireWire or USB stream. Behringers x32 forum is a great place to be asking these questions and you will likely get fast answers. Creating an account might take a day or two as every user is individually approved.
__________________
Working for the preservation of quality live sound.... One show at a time!

Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2HP
Phenom II 6core
8gig PC2-8900
Windows 8.1
Behringer x32 & Mbox2 Pro
Genelec 8030's with Genny sub
Tannoy system 800s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Headphone Monitoring meanie2188 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-11-2010 01:03 PM
digi 002- No headphone monitoring when recording stevemg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-25-2008 07:57 PM
Headphone Monitoring Christoph1123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-13-2001 09:06 AM
headphone monitoring set-ups Jason 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-23-2000 11:51 PM
Headphone Monitoring Greg Malcangi ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 12-09-1999 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com