Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:58 PM
christunger christunger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 8
Default 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

This may only be wishful thinking but....

I like to record a lot using the Soldano Crunch setting along with the 57 and 421 mic models on my 11R. I like to layer high gain and low gain takes of my parts. The current process involves me recording the same part at least 4 times.

My tracking looks like this:
Track 1 High Gain - Panned Left - 57
Track 2 High Gain - Panned Right - 421
Track 3 Low Gain - Panned Left - 57
Track 4 Low Gain - Panned Right - 421

Is there any way to streamline my efforts? Obviously in a real studio environment, both mics would be setup and I would just have to track my high gain part once and then my low gain part once. Is there any way to run one amp with two mics simultaneously? Like the 57 could be assigned to the Eleven Rack L input and the 421 to the Eleven Rack R input?

Hopefully I didn't make that as clear as mud. I appreciate the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2013, 04:55 AM
sunburst79's Avatar
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,787
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

Quote:
Originally Posted by christunger View Post
This may only be wishful thinking but....

I like to record a lot using the Soldano Crunch setting along with the 57 and 421 mic models on my 11R. I like to layer high gain and low gain takes of my parts. The current process involves me recording the same part at least 4 times.

My tracking looks like this:
Track 1 High Gain - Panned Left - 57
Track 2 High Gain - Panned Right - 421
Track 3 Low Gain - Panned Left - 57
Track 4 Low Gain - Panned Right - 421

Is there any way to streamline my efforts? Obviously in a real studio environment, both mics would be setup and I would just have to track my high gain part once and then my low gain part once. Is there any way to run one amp with two mics simultaneously? Like the 57 could be assigned to the Eleven Rack L input and the 421 to the Eleven Rack R input?

Hopefully I didn't make that as clear as mud. I appreciate the feedback!
I'm not aware of anyway of tracking through more than one mic at once. However there's no reason you couldn't take your direct track. Duplicate it and then ReAmp it using the amp model and and mic you want.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2013, 07:30 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 8,795
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

Yes, what Scott mentioned is correct, or some variation of it.

As he said, you could (assuming you've recorded a dry track), send the dry track through the 11R again to reamp it, using the same amp and cab but with the different mic selected.

If you have the Eleven plugin, there's actually a quicker way to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2013, 07:57 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

Or.... (and this is absolutely to be taken with humor) if you have the spare cash you can get some used or new 11r off of eBay for dirt cheap. you could get 3 more with a 4 way splitter and record all 4 at the same time
__________________
Manny.

Emcha_audio ->J'emcha_audio-> J'emcha l'audio-> J'aimecha l'audio-> J'aime ça l'audio. Gotta know french to get it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:58 PM
Deansy Deansy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 76
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

I think it's interesting that what you're doing in tracking the same part 4 times will sound much better than just one take with various different mics. Doubling a part by playing it twice is definitely better sounding than just playing it once and recording using two different Mics (much less phase issues involved). I recommend you stick to your method. Then again the practical solution as provided by sunburst79 by recording a dry track is an excellent solution to your question.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2013, 03:32 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 8,795
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

It still adds a lot to have the same take going through 2 different mics, regardless of how many takes you do. I have not encountered phase issues doing this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:24 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 6,908
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

There is currently no way to run two rigs simultaneously.

What has been suggested in terms of re-amping is the way you would do this.

If you are panning your guitar full L/R, then I would suggest doing two (or more) takes. If you just copy the track or use a stereo you are not getting the width that is often wanted. If the sound of a single pass works for you, then thats fine. But for me I like to do 1 take for each side. You could then reamp each side with a different mic.

Be careful about doing too many layers as it can flatten your sound. But there are no rules, so just do what sounds good to you.
__________________
Brian

Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 11 | Eleven Rack + ERXP
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:53 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 8,795
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

I agree, Benoni.

To clarify what I was suggesting, is each time you do a take, reamp the exact same take through the same amp/cab, but with a different mic. This reamped track would be panned to wherever the first processed take is.

This would simulate having 2 mics on the cabinet in real life. For example, if you're doing a take for the left side with an SM57, you then reamp it again, but with a different mic. That's also panned to the left side. Then you do the whole process again for the right side, etc.

It sounds tedious, but it can really enrich the sound.

Other plugins like Amplitube and Guitar Rig make this much easier to process by allowing you to use 2 different mics in the rig in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2013, 10:39 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 6,908
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
I agree, Benoni.

To clarify what I was suggesting, is each time you do a take, reamp the exact same take through the same amp/cab, but with a different mic. This reamped track would be panned to wherever the first processed take is.

This would simulate having 2 mics on the cabinet in real life. For example, if you're doing a take for the left side with an SM57, you then reamp it again, but with a different mic. That's also panned to the left side. Then you do the whole process again for the right side, etc.
It sounds tedious, but it can really enrich the sound.

Other plugins like Amplitube and Guitar Rig make this much easier to process by allowing you to use 2 different mics in the rig in the first place.
I agree. I know I really started to understand the Eleven Rack when I stopped looking at it like a software Guitar Sim and started looking at it like a real amp with the features of a software sim and an audio interface.
__________________
Brian

Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 11 | Eleven Rack + ERXP
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2013, 05:07 AM
lspaulsp lspaulsp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas City, Tx
Posts: 98
Default Re: 1 rig, 2 mics simultaneously

A little delay here..........A little delay there and boom!
HUGE sound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best stereo mics and outdoor mics spaceman Tips & Tricks 5 01-21-2008 08:53 AM
guitar mics and vocal mics laaaakes5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-01-2004 05:27 PM
micing a drummer - mics to use, cost of mics and cables Namaste 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 05-09-2003 02:34 PM
Using 888/24 and 888/16 Simultaneously Rail Jon Rogut Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-27-2003 01:53 AM
Soundelux mics-anybody used these mics? kite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-09-2002 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com