Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2013, 10:20 AM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 136
Default Interface for Big Band

I need 16 mic inputs to record a big band with horns, and my online searching comes up short.

What would you recommend for a live big band recording?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2013, 11:02 AM
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 285
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

I record up to 16 mics at a time using the 8 inputs on my Digi 002 Rack, and 8 inputs on a Behringer ADA 8000 which connects to the Digi 002 via lightpipe. Pro tools sees the ADA 8000 inputs as ADAT. You didn't give any info about your basic setup, so it is hard to give specific advice.
Mike
__________________
Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, Gigabyte 78LMT-S2P Motherboard, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2013, 11:40 AM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 136
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

I have an eleven rack and a 002 mixer, using pt10 on windows.

I just need to be able to record from whatever the house mixer is using but the band wants discrete tracks for each instrument, discrete drums and vox.

Let me know what information you need to recommend.

The ADA8000 looks promising, can I just stack 2 of those?

Last edited by kelco83; 05-28-2013 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:24 PM
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 285
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

So you are talking about recording live sound. To record the discrete tracks, the house mixer must have line outs on each channel, which you would connect to the line-ins of an ADA8000 (not the xlr mic ins). When you say you are using an 002 mixer does that refer to a Digidesign 002 interface, or is it just a mixer? If it is the Digi 002 interface, you have 8 line ins on that, plus the lightpipe input that will receive the 8 channels of ADAT from the ADA8000. The Digi 002 also has lightpipe out, which is used to transmit the master clock to the ADA 8000. With the Digi002 you are limited to the 8 tracks of ADAT in, so you could not stack 2 ADA800's. I am sure there are some interfaces that permit more than 8 ADATs in. I am not familiar with the input capabilities of the Eleven rack. Maybe someone else can chime in on that device.
__________________
Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, Gigabyte 78LMT-S2P Motherboard, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:38 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 8,912
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

The Eleven Rack wouldn't add much in this case. In standalone mode (which is what he'd be using) it only processes the guitar input.

The best solution would be like already mentioned, getting an expansion device to use with Adat.

There aren't very many interfaces with 16 analog inputs, and those that have it are expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:39 PM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 136
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

Thanks for the clarification, I thought I needed xlr inputs. I'm kinda being pushed into this, I normally just record at home.

My only source of information said I needed xlr, but clearly doesn't know what he's talking about.

It is indeed a digi002 mixer, I'll just snag another 8 inputs and roll the dice on this endeavor. LOL

Thanks

Also price isn't really an issue, they'll buy whatever they need, so if that includes a completely different PT interface, that is in the cards as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:53 PM
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 285
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

I would go with the ADA 8000. I picked mine up on craigslist for $125 earlier this year. I think new ones are $250 or so. It has sample rates of 44.1k and 48k, which should be fine for what your are doing. The converters on it are comparable in quality to the Digi002. You will have to read up in your pro tools manual on how to set the 002 to master and the ADA8000 will act as slave. (can be done the other way around, but I don't see any advantage to that). You can buy the lightpipe cables online at a good price, or you can pay up at a retail store. Keep them as short as possible. I wouldn't suggest buying "high quality" lightpipes, particularly if you are taking the rig out of the studio. Just don't kink them, step on them, etc.
__________________
Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, Gigabyte 78LMT-S2P Motherboard, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:57 PM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 136
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjslakeridge View Post
I would go with the ADA 8000. I picked mine up on craigslist for $125 earlier this year. I think new ones are $250 or so. It has sample rates of 44.1k and 48k, which should be fine for what your are doing. The converters on it are comparable in quality to the Digi002. You will have to read up in your pro tools manual on how to set the 002 to master and the ADA8000 will act as slave. (can be done the other way around, but I don't see any advantage to that). You can buy the lightpipe cables online at a good price, or you can pay up at a retail store. Keep them as short as possible. I wouldn't suggest buying "high quality" lightpipes, particularly if you are taking the rig out of the studio. Just don't kink them, step on them, etc.
Thanks for the info! This could have been a fiasco!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2013, 03:08 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 4,182
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

Recorded 18 tracks on a PT 8/XP rig thru: 8 analog inputs on an 003 rack, 8 adat inputs via Behringer ada8000 into the 003, and had an outboard S/pdif converter for two more mic channels into the s/pdif input on the 003.
Ended up with a killer Flying W Wrangler Live Christmas album. We just took the direct outputs out of the board, plus hung a few overheads to capture the audience. Worked very well. And yes, everything was isolated to its own track.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2013, 03:40 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 4,358
Default Re: Interface for Big Band

On a smallish budget for a live recording I did last September for a wind orchestra, I used a Liquid saffire 56 and a saffire pro 40 linked through adat. 16 pre's of all the same quality.
__________________
Manny.

Emcha_audio ->J'emcha_audio-> J'emcha l'audio-> J'aimecha l'audio-> J'aime ça l'audio. Gotta know french to get it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alessis Multimix8usbfx interface and Mbox 2 interface with Protools 11 Majorpain7 Pro Tools 11 Discussion 0 01-06-2014 08:40 PM
Jeff Han's "no-interface" interface - soon for ProTools ??? ith_e General Discussion 5 04-13-2007 07:59 AM
Bussing of 1-band or 4-band EQ TonyR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-15-2002 02:02 PM
is there a digital only i/o interface compatable with digi interface connections? Felix Tips & Tricks 2 10-22-2001 10:50 PM
SDII/Digital Interface/Analog Interface Question Karmitz Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-15-2000 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com