Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2013, 01:13 PM
BslBryan BslBryan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools MP9

So my friend got me a Fast Track Pro which came with Pro Tools MP9. I'm also using Amplitube 3 and EZDrummer. The guitar through amplitube works fine, but when adding a MIDI track for my Alesis MIDI keyboard, I can't hear the output. I can see that it's receiving input, and can even see the notes when I record, but I can't hear it playing back or while playing live. I can hear the click track but it's playing through a different output that can't be set in the midi track. Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 06:14 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9

MIDI tracks don't make any sound, either at recording or playback. After creating a MIDI track, you have to route its output to the Fast Track Pro, then run a MIDI cable from the FTP MIDI out to the keyboard's MIDI in. Create a new audio track, then run an analog cable from your keyboard to the appropriate input on the front of the FTP. The MIDI track will then "play" the keyboard, and you can record it onto the audio track. (I hope I got that all right. It's hard for me to tell someone how to do that without having the program open in front of me and going thru it.) When I'm doing a MIDI track, I turn the volume up on my keyboard so I can listen to it thru the speakers it has. If yours doesn't have speakers, try running the analog cable to the FTP input at the same time you're recording the MIDI track. Turn your "Mix" knob (directly above the output level knob) counterclockwise to mix your output sound with the input patch of the keyboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2013, 06:40 PM
sunburst79's Avatar
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,787
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9

You may want a instrument track depending n what your trying to do with the keyboard.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com