Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2012, 08:23 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 476
Default PT 10 HD Error: "Unable to locate hardware....."

I just installed Pro Tools 10 HD to my laptop running Windows 7. I keep getting this error message when I try to start the application:

"Unable to locate hardware. Make sure hardware is connected and turned on. Click “OK” when the hardware is ready."

It was my understanding that Pro Tools 10 HD is not hardware dependent at all. Why am I getting this error message? What do I need to do to run this software?

Thanks!

Jay


**JAY TERRIEN**
Musician Contracting, Professional Session Bass, Viola, String Arrangements, Music Director, New Business Development In Los Angeles, CA

With Artists MOBY, RIHANNA, RANCID, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES), CHRIS MANN, CONNIE LIM, CLARA C, etc.

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists MOBY, RIHANNA, RANCID, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES), CHRIS MANN, CONNIE LIM, CLARA C, etc.

Live Videos: http://www.jayterrien.com/TERRIEN_VIDEOS.htm

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:44 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,539
Default Re: PT 10 HD Error: "Unable to locate hardware....."

You do need hardware. It can be a built in ASIO sound device, but you do need hardware. Have you installed "ASIO4ALL"? This driver may bring your built in sound to life.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom
No.1 on Wish List... Track Freeze

Pro Tools 11.2.1 (11.1.3 for clients) ~HDX~HDN
HD Omni +192 I/O
Intel Hexcore i7, SSD
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
MOTU 24 I/O W/PCI 424
Outboard, UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2012, 05:15 PM
Jay Terrien Jay Terrien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 476
Default Re: PT 10 HD Error: "Unable to locate hardware....."

Like magic, the ASIO4ALL did the trick. Boom! Thanks peeps!

JT
__________________
**JAY TERRIEN**

BASS ~ VIOLA ~ ARRANGEMENTS
With Artists MOBY, RIHANNA, RANCID, ANDY GRAMMER, THE BODEANS, PAT MASTELOTTO (KING CRIMSON, XTC, THE SUGARCUBES), CHRIS MANN, CONNIE LIM, CLARA C, etc.

Live Videos: http://www.jayterrien.com/TERRIEN_VIDEOS.htm

E-mail: jay@jayterrien.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.facebook.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.twitter.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.myspace.com/JAYTERRIEN
http://www.jayterrien.com/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2012, 08:22 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,539
Default Re: PT 10 HD Error: "Unable to locate hardware....."

ya' welcome.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom
No.1 on Wish List... Track Freeze

Pro Tools 11.2.1 (11.1.3 for clients) ~HDX~HDN
HD Omni +192 I/O
Intel Hexcore i7, SSD
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
MOTU 24 I/O W/PCI 424
Outboard, UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2012, 11:48 PM
Smiffs Smiffs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 3
Default Re: PT 10 HD Error: "Unable to locate hardware....."

I just had the same problem after a small config change. Beforehand, PT/MBox combination was working fine.

Anyway, I Googled the problem, found this thread, downloaded and installed ASIO4All...and hey presto....back in business.

Thank you Tom.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 Error "Unable to Locate Hardware" Epals Pro Tools Software (Win) 4 11-21-2012 09:05 PM
"Unable to locate digidesign hardware" Mbox (original) ProTools LE 7.4.2 Mac OS X sharpd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 04-27-2012 12:11 AM
Error "unable to locate hardware. make sure your hardware is connected and turned on" tmcgrechan Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 10-06-2011 09:12 AM
Another "Unable to locate Digidesign hardware" error message Albers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 05-28-2011 11:12 AM
The dreaded "unable to locate digidesign hardware" error NZDingo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 11-09-2010 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com