Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:05 PM
stpete111 stpete111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
Default Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Hi All,

How do I simply advance my cursor gridline-by-gridline in a particular track in the Edit window? I can only see how to either tab to transients or tab to beginning or end of a clip/region. Seems like being able to tab to gridline within a track would be simple, but the Shortcuts guide doesn't like any ability to do it. Anyone know how?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:41 PM
stpete111 stpete111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Just figured out that holding Command while pressing the Fast Forward button on the Transport Window tabs by however many measures at a time that you set it for in Preferences. That's one step closer for me, but I was looking for a keyboard shortcut that does not require any mouse use at all...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:07 PM
PT Lover's Avatar
PT Lover PT Lover is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 5,421
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

1 and 2 (numpad) will move the cursor 1 bar back and forth. Multiple hits will move it multiple bars.
__________________
Stig Eliassen
---------------
Pro Tools|HDX 10.3.9 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | 10.8.5 | D-Command ES | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Pro Tools|HD 10.3.9/11.1.3 | iMac 12,1 w/12GB RAM | 10.9.4 | Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:21 PM
stpete111 stpete111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Hello Stig,

Thanks for the reply. I'm on a laptop so I lack the number pad. However, due to this shortcut, and many more that I can't perform b/c I lack the numpad, I am going to go ahead and get a USB keyboard with a numpad. It'll be worth the purchase for sure.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2012, 12:52 AM
Vovique Vovique is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 136
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Another workaround: you can nudge selections, so as long as you select something, you can nudge it to the grid. For pasting audio, for example, selection start equals cursor, so this will work in most cases.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2012, 11:30 AM
stpete111 stpete111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Vovique, doesn't nudge actually move regions though? I want to navigate the grid w/o actually moving anything...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:57 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,128
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

If you have not highlighted an area or region, nudge will move the cursor by the set value.

Cheers,
__________________
Bruce Hayward
info@brucehayward.com
www.brucehayward.com
Health IS Wealth
Every day's a new adventure
I had a handle on life...but it broke
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2012, 10:01 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,505
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stpete111 View Post
Hello Stig,

Thanks for the reply. I'm on a laptop so I lack the number pad. However, due to this shortcut, and many more that I can't perform b/c I lack the numpad, I am going to go ahead and get a USB keyboard with a numpad. It'll be worth the purchase for sure.

Thanks.
Does anybody know if the use of a USB keypad will link together with the other controls on the Laptop? For example, could you press "Command - 1 (on the number pad)" and get the correct results? I tried this with a Blue Tooth Keyboard and the OS (snow leopard) sees the two keyboards as completely separate keyboards, so key combinations like that won't work.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 10.3.6 PCIe HD3 Mac OS 10.8.5
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 20 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:00 PM
Audioartist Audioartist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 207
Default

Shortcut combinations does not work with my targus usb keypad.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:20 PM
stpete111 stpete111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
If you have not highlighted an area or region, nudge will move the cursor by the set value.

Cheers,

Thanks Weed, I think this is going to be the best answer for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard shortcut to highlight until next grid the hecksome Pro Tools 10 Discussion 1 11-08-2012 10:19 AM
Cursor + Grid +TC = playback issue Guy McDude Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-28-2011 03:02 AM
Keyboard shortcut triplet grid 24bit dither Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-17-2009 02:54 AM
grid/cursor problems mfym 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-14-2004 11:22 PM
Quick Grid/Cursor question in 6.1...... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-12-2003 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com