Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2012, 04:57 PM
toolowd toolowd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 59
Default need drive help with os 9.2.2 and pt 5.1.3

I have a quicksilver running mix+++ and a procontrol and am having a hard time with some drives. They have been fine up till a few days ago.

I have had this system since new and never run in to this.

I have been using these 2 TB firewire 800 drives (with a 400 to 800 cable) and now have this problem.

I have been getting dae error -50 when I record audio to these firewire drives. They have been formatted with os 10 with os 9 drivers.

I have rebuilt desktop folders and trashed all the prefs.

If I copy these sessions to another drive they work. When I hook these drives to my MPowered 8 rig, it i will record to them.

Disc first aid in os 9 crashes (i understand this, with os 10 format) disc first aid in os 10.5.8 doesn't find anything wrong.

was there ever a limitation in protools for drive size back then?

these drives have worked find until they have about 800 gig on them (with 1.2 tb open).

rich morpurgo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2012, 05:55 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Minneapolis
Posts: 4,033
Default Re: need drive help with os 9.2.2 and pt 5.1.3

I cant remember the exact number, but os9 cant handle drives that big if i remember right. Something like a 138gb max size was what you could format. I always had my drives formatted into smaller partitions back in the day. The limitation might have been related to older g4 motherboards too, it's been a long time so I don't remember why, but I do know that all of my bigger drives were split into 120gb partitions with my sawtooth g4s. Now that i think of it, the mdds i ran did have bigger drives in them, obviously if you were able to fill up to 800gb on these the quicksilver probably isnt as limited as the sawtooth was.

EDIT: glad i re-read this... Just noticed a bigger issue... You're using fw800 to fw400 cables to go from the quicksilver to the fw800 drive? I think that's a problem. You arent ever supposed to step up to fw800 from fw400, the fw400 device should always be the last thing in you fw chain. The quicksilvers fw400 port was designed before fw800 existed, so it's very possible it's not entirely compatible. Does the drive have a fw400 port on it? I'd try using a 6pin to 6pin firewire cable, there is not any benefit to using the fw800 adaptor cable when you're starting with fw400 speec at the computer. Also, does the drive have the oxford firewire chipset? The oxford 911 was what was officially supported back then.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2012, 09:35 AM
toolowd toolowd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 59
Default Re: need drive help with os 9.2.2 and pt 5.1.3

Thanks for the heads up John. I have used these drives for months without issue, but I agree that this could be the issue. There is a quicksilver limit of 128 gb for an INTERNAL drive, and the system will not see one that is bigger. If it formats a larger drive internally, it will only format it to 128 GB.

Externally they can see any size. I have copied some sessions to a smaller 350 GB drive and they work fine with the same 400-800 cable and interface. At least I have a way to keep going with these projects.

It seems that I had this problem before a few months ago. I thought it was a fluke and copied everything over to another drive and reformatted. Everything has been fine since...... Until now.

Anyway, thanks again for the help. I will post anymore findings as I come across them for the next sorry SOB who finds himself in the same situation.

rich

www.midwestaudiorecording.com


rich
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Boot drive migration to a new internal SATA drive audiowave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-03-2011 02:45 PM
"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or iminzayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 04-15-2010 09:28 PM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-19-2002 11:26 PM
scsi ultra160 disk for system drive and audio drive jazzle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-23-2001 06:54 AM
Hard Drive Performance Dual Processors and Dedicated Audio Drive j_jayzatuc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-03-2000 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com