Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-29-2012, 06:41 AM
Roll Roll is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brussels
Posts: 85
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by klaukholm View Post
I have a lead on a nice fanless PSU now!
Thanks Mark!
Nice,

can you share it ?

Best regards

Roland
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-29-2012, 01:33 PM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 212
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roll View Post
Nice,

can you share it ?

Best regards

Roland
A very nice looking 1RU fanless PSU built by Digital Audio Service in germany
The delivery is a little slow, but I hope to have it here this week


My original MC Pro psu looks like a real hackjob inside. No wonder they fail often.

Update:

the two-three week delivery time is turning out to be more like 2-3 months
That is a lot of downtime
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-19-2012, 12:29 AM
ErikGuldager ErikGuldager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 95
Default

Just make sure you have a newish mc. Not the oldest silver one.
We have the original model, the internal power wiring has been updated since the original release, so the German psu has to be modified to work with old mc's. Also it is not at all optimum to use with the old ones as they are very peculiar with getting the right voltage and the power harness in the old units are a bit wasteful so getting the correct voltage to all the cards is actually almost impossible...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-20-2012, 05:05 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 212
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

Thanks for the info Erik,
our unit serial number is in the upper 8000 (D-87xx).
Delivered fourth quarter 2006
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-20-2012, 12:43 PM
ErikGuldager ErikGuldager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 95
Default

Silver or dark?
I'll try and check what serial one of our units have during the week.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-21-2012, 07:12 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 212
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

Silver
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-22-2012, 08:28 AM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 212
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

The PSU is here and I had initial issues finding the right voltage. As Erik predicted, we had to make a change in the wiring.
I just finished this and fired her up and all seems to be good after a small voltage adjustment.

I would urge euphonix to supply all future units with this PSU as it is very well made and fanless.

The origninal PSU is a mess inside, not serviceable and it is reminicent of the deck of an aircraft carrier due to the fan
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-18-2012, 07:07 AM
blob blob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Namibia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

Hi.
I have an Euphonix MC pro from 2008. With the first psu. Todaythe PSU crapped out, a capacitor burned. A handy electrician tried to fix it with an another one. PSU seem to work, but now the MCpro doesn't boot, it only shows milky white screen, and then nothing. I just hope it gives wrong voltage on the pins. I'm afraid that maybe the motherboard burned during a power spike?.
Any idea what could be the problem?. How did the screen looked when your PSUs crapped out?.
Now I'm in Namibia and to get the MC to the USA would be extremely expensive.
Thank you in advance

Wojtek
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-18-2012, 11:40 PM
klaukholm klaukholm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Copenhagen/Stockholm
Posts: 212
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

It is super sensitive to grounding and voltages.

the 12v should be 12.6 V

The 5v should be 5.4 V.
Start there and go up in VERY small increments to a max of 5.8


My suggestion is to call Digital Audio Service in germany and order a new and very well built PSU


In calibrating the voltage, what I found was this:
At the lowest voltage, I only got a boot screen.
As I increased the voltage I got further into the boot.
At some point I far into the boot, but it froze with stripes across the screen
finally it would get to a full boot of xp, but more voltage was still needed to launch MC software.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-18-2012, 11:55 PM
blob blob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Namibia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Fanless PSU MC Pro

Hello klaukholm
Thank you very much for your response.!
I'm a little worried that we maybe damaged the electronics inside the MCpro.
When you were working on voltages, were the symptoms I described the same (milky screen, no boot at all).
On the other side 25000 U$ piece of gear shouldn't be that fragile.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally I have my small working fanless PT computer ErikRobert Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 03-07-2012 02:18 AM
LE on small fanless system ? ErikRobert 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-13-2010 10:03 AM
Fanless video card for i7 jcolagross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 02-19-2010 12:09 PM
Anybody built a fanless system? JPS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 10-31-2007 10:52 PM
fanless external FW drive Slim Shady 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 06-08-2003 08:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com