Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:23 PM
whittybeats whittybeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 94
Default How do I monitor while using all 8 outputs for summing?

Trying to figure out how to monitor while using all 8 outputs on the 003. I have each output routed to a Summing Mixer with 8 inputs and thought all I had to do to monitor was have my speakers plugged into the Alt Output on the 003 with the Alt CR switch turned on. Not getting a signal this way and having to use the Main Output leaving me with only 6 outputs to Sum with. Am I not setting something up properly in the I/O Setup Window? Am I going to be limited to only 6 outputs if I want to monitor though speakers instead of headphones? Any help is greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:20 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,111
Default Re: How do I monitor while using all 8 outputs for summing?

Get a monitor/source switcher(like the Presonus Central Station) and feed the summing amp outputs to the source selector. That way, you can easily switch between the summing amp and the 003 output. In any case, you need to monitor off the summing amp somehow. Or, route that back into the 003(assuming you will record to a "mix" track) and route the mix track to the 003 SPDIF output(the Central Station can also take the SPDIF output of the 003, so the 8 analog outs can all be used to the summing amp.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2012, 07:00 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: How do I monitor while using all 8 outputs for summing?

Why not just monitor through your summing mixer?

Does it not have monitoring facilities?
__________________
Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:49 PM
whittybeats whittybeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 94
Default Re: How do I monitor while using all 8 outputs for summing?

Quote:
Why not just monitor through your summing mixer?

Does it not have monitoring facilities?
It has 3 seperate outputs. Transformer, Transformerless and Passive. I guess this is my only option if I want to utilize all 8 outputs from the 003 simultaneously. It's gonna be a pain to have to switch back and forth between the summing box output and the 003 output while recording and/or mixing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2012, 08:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,111
Default Re: How do I monitor while using all 8 outputs for summing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by whittybeats View Post
It has 3 seperate outputs. Transformer, Transformerless and Passive. I guess this is my only option if I want to utilize all 8 outputs from the 003 simultaneously. It's gonna be a pain to have to switch back and forth between the summing box output and the 003 output while recording and/or mixing.
The Central Station solves that and adds several nice functions for a DAW-based studio.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Outputs WAY too loud MJ6Music Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 06-07-2012 08:24 PM
003 Monitor outputs ThatArchieGuy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-08-2010 10:07 PM
pro tools summing or digital board summing kingz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-29-2004 12:46 AM
Monitor Outputs - Digi 001 woodman01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-08-2002 04:14 PM
Monitor Outputs??? Dinkus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-09-2001 08:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com