Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 02:02 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,043
Default HDX question re: voice allocation

Does HDX make that whole TDM-RTAS plug-in voice-eating stuff a thing of the past? e.g. Can you put an AAX plug-in followed by an RTAS plug-in without it eating an extra voice?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 02:08 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 4,756
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Can you put an AAX plug-in followed by an RTAS plug-in without it eating an extra voice?

Thanks
No. Same as before. Unless you're talking about AAXnative plugins. But it's the same with AAXdsp +native (AAXnative or RTAS doesn't matter) as it was with TDM+native.
__________________
PTHDn 11.2.1HD (OSX10.8.5), 8x8x8, MacPro 2.8Ghz Quad-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 02:11 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

Ah thanks. What a drag.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:12 PM
polkbrosmusic polkbrosmusic is offline
ACI/ALP Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: sanford,fl
Posts: 141
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

One difference is that you start with 256 voices not 192 and the voice count is expandable to 768 with the addition of HDX cards.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:35 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

Yes, I suppose that would make things a bit easier. I was brought in to tart up a mix that someone else had started on an HD system, and they had no idea about maximising resources, the whole thing was a bloody nightmare. I ended up transferring the whole lot to my HD Native rig where it ran like a dream.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:55 PM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 10,754
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

and it only uses 1 voice per channel of audio instead of 2, or so I've been told
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are not mind readers: Help Us Help You


"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:01 AM
PaulV's Avatar
PaulV PaulV is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Avid, San Francisco
Posts: 296
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

Yes this still happens, but 1) you've got more voices, and 2) It uses half the number of voices as HD to do this. DSP->RTAS->DSP with HDX only uses 1 voice, as opposed to HD which used 2 for that transition.
__________________
Cheers,

Paul Vercellotti
Avid Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2012, 03:03 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

Thanks for the info guys. So, at a practical level, have you guys stopped worrying about which order to put plug-ins on? Or is there still the issue with going over the maximum delay compensation time?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:12 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 11,432
Default Re: HDX question re: voice allocation

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Does HDX make that whole TDM-RTAS plug-in voice-eating stuff a thing of the past? e.g. Can you put an AAX plug-in followed by an RTAS plug-in without it eating an extra voice?

Thanks
Here's a good thread on the topic. You'll have to weed through some of the noise, but there's some good insight on the subject.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit | W8 RP 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voice allocation in ProTools LE sequence025 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-01-2005 07:49 PM
DYN: Dynamic Voice Allocation? brinaddison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-20-2004 06:05 PM
Digi CS, HD voice allocation vs DSP question? Rich Breen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-11-2002 07:42 AM
voice allocation savage Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-24-2001 12:20 AM
Voice Allocation Rules nozza1 General Discussion 2 05-30-2001 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com