Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-1999, 05:04 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Downgrade from G3/300 to G3/266 Can I expect any trouble?

My G3/300 Mix + may become a permanently portable PT flightcased system.

For the studio I can pull in a G3/266, to which I will add:Mix + core, Pro Control,Bit 3 Exp Chassis, USD, Dual monitor cards. Extra Mix farms. Data dat CDR, Multiple hot swap drives.Interfaces.

The 266 is a desktop model (128 meg)
Will there be trouble with this slight downgrade? 300 to 266 ???? (no zip drive on the 266) Ethernet still OK for Pro Control? OK for Midi & Pro Tools 5?

TIA

Jules



P.S. The flightcase was built for the tower G3/300, otherwise I would go for it the other way round.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 6,819
Default Re: Downgrade from G3/300 to G3/266 Can I expect any trouble?

How an earth can we still talk about G3 processors which were so 20th century :)
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 10:47 AM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 9,692
Default Re: Downgrade from G3/300 to G3/266 Can I expect any trouble?

the post was from October 1999
a G3 would have been a relevant machine

but why drag it up
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are not mind readers: Help Us Help You


"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 10:35 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 6,819
Default Re: Downgrade from G3/300 to G3/266 Can I expect any trouble?

I don't know what happened and why, but there was a brief moment when I only saw this and several other 20th century posts, and I only figured it out after posting the response
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2012, 05:42 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,740
Smile Re: Downgrade from G3/300 to G3/266 Can I expect any trouble?

I have a spare G3 266. do you want it? Just send me some Whitesnake, Asia, Tears For fears DVDs.
:)
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel -8.1.1 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon & Sebatron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrade to Mac 10.7.4 worth the trouble ronstephens Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 11-27-2012 10:45 AM
What to expect? PT HD-1 pinosmuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 02-11-2009 05:43 AM
What can we expect with PT7? IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-06-2005 04:59 PM
Is this all I can expect? vlastyn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-06-2004 07:49 PM
PT 4.3/mix/ dsp - what can I expect Zed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-22-2000 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com