Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2012, 04:51 AM
vnetstudio vnetstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: vannes
Posts: 5
Default Opening freezes at "Reactivating track monitor"

I have frequent difficulties when I try to re-open some sessions, and I can't figure out where they come from.
PT opens always fine on its own, but when it comes to open a session, I never know if it will open or not, whether I start from PT itself, then go through open procedure or I launch from the session file.

Sometimes it stops at "Activating inserts:..." naming one the tracks previously made. One other session is always freezing at the stage "reactivating track monitor", leaving me unable to restore none of my work.
I've just updated to 8.1.1, but the song remains the same. Tried to open from a backup file, I've put the plug-in into the unused folder, deleted the prefs...

I'm stuck in the middle of nowhere, and no evidence of any way to sort this out.
Some help required please.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:35 PM
vnetstudio vnetstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: vannes
Posts: 5
Default Re: Opening freezes at "Reactivating track monitor"

May I add that I tun PT8.1.1 within a PC :
- Gigabyte GA P55A-UD3
- i5@2,80 GHz with 8Go Ram
- Nvidia Ge7400
Hope it helps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:26 AM
vnetstudio vnetstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: vannes
Posts: 5
Default Re: Opening freezes at "Reactivating track monitor"

I finally solved the problem on my own:

It appears that whether on opening and/or closing sessions, either PT or win or mac corrupt sometimes the "wave cache" file. I saw it on my previous systeme based on a G5-PPC, a friend of mine had similar behaviour with its G5-intel. I can't figure out if it comes from PT and/or OS file system. Disk management might be invoked too...

From years in such situation, I used to trash down the file, which was properly regenerated at a new opening, so did I repeatidly this time too. But it looks like "wave cache" contains critical infos now. They are definetely corrupted when it wheights 1ko in place of 100ko or more.

The solution is to look after the last correct wave cache and use it with the session backup file having exactly the same date/hour for a successful launch. Chance was I had trashed them...

From now on, I'll make sure to copy the good last wave cache file into the backup folder. Otherwise I have no idea on what to do to prevent such corruption...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save as > "Could not 14404 because File or folder not found (-43) while opening "..." Elias Stiza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2012 07:06 PM
How do I monitor "output" audio levels of a track senik343 Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 11-09-2011 07:36 AM
Slow opening sessions "Reading Track Overviews" russ russell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-03-2011 07:08 PM
"uknown exception" error in protools.dll when opening an aux track balters Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 04-06-2009 03:51 PM
If I "Remove Unused Regions" after "Consolidate", track won't play? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-02-2003 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com