Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-12-2009, 01:25 AM
Nexus52085 Nexus52085 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: No sound PT 8.0 - Windows 7 64 bit - Mbox Pro firewire. Are we fools?

As for you, Digidesign, here's some food for thought.

The 64-bit OS is now in its 3rd generation. Let me repeat the previous statement. The 64-bit OS is now in its 3rd generation. Allow me to name them for you. Windows XP 64-bit, Windows Vista 64-bit, and now Windows 7 64-bit. Do not act like your consumers don't know this. You're skating on thin ice as it is.


Now, let's talk about supported music production software which run in 64-bit.
  • Native Instruments Kontakt 3 (and yes, Kontakt 4 is out now)
  • EastWest PLAY engine
  • Steinberg Cubase
  • Cakewalk Sonar
  • Nuendo
  • Fruity Loops Studio
Need I list more apps?


As you can see, you are not leading the industry by any stretch. You can claim that your program is complicated to write in 64-bit, but remember that little piece of information I wrote at the beginning of this comment regarding the three generations of 64-bit operating systems? That's going to keep slapping you in the face until you get the 64-bit drivers out. I'm not going to start calling you names even a kid living in the Bronx would be ashamed of, because I think you already know how shameful your excuses for the past 5 years have been. We all know that tech support is getting paid to cover up your obvious mishaps. So, tech support, Digidesign, whoever, if you really want to impress us, let us know for sure, without elusive wording, when, not possibly when, your 64-bit Pro Tools drivers will be available. DO NOT RESPOND IF YOU ARE GOING TO GIVE US INSULTING ANSWERS. Good day.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-12-2009, 02:01 AM
syo66 syo66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: himeji, japan
Posts: 26
Default Re: No sound PT 8.0 - Windows 7 64 bit - Mbox Pro firewire. Are we fools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus52085 View Post
I would usually agree with you on this point. However, Windows 7 was out in beta form free to everyone many months before the official release of the OS, and NO ONE complained about compatibility issues. Windows 7 is probably the most compatable OS ever made especially because of its windows XP mode. So, in this case, I have to disagree with you. Windows 7 was fully compatable from day 1, and because of its pre-release beta version, it is not buggy at all. It is the optimum form of Windows Vista.
Well Nexus, if you are right that it isn't buggy at all I would be amazed (but certainly happy to hear it). I've been using Windows since 2.1 and every promise of stability since then has been less than impressive.
As for compatibility, that is a two-way street, between 7 and individual developers. If you do a search of driver issues with Windows 7 you will find that it is not "fully" compatibile. Also, in my experience, the longer an OS is out there, the more issues seem to arise. Still by all accounts, Windows 7 seems to be a considerable improvement over Vista.

As for the original point of ProTools compatibility, I hope it comes sooner than later but I'm not ready to blame anyone just yet. Ironically, while I hate Vista generally, Protools actually actually runs better on it for me than it did with XP (an OS I certainly prefer). Go figure...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-12-2009, 03:09 PM
Nexus52085 Nexus52085 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: No sound PT 8.0 - Windows 7 64 bit - Mbox Pro firewire. Are we fools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by syo66 View Post
Well Nexus, if you are right that it isn't buggy at all I would be amazed (but certainly happy to hear it). I've been using Windows since 2.1 and every promise of stability since then has been less than impressive.
As for compatibility, that is a two-way street, between 7 and individual developers. If you do a search of driver issues with Windows 7 you will find that it is not "fully" compatibile. Also, in my experience, the longer an OS is out there, the more issues seem to arise. Still by all accounts, Windows 7 seems to be a considerable improvement over Vista.

As for the original point of ProTools compatibility, I hope it comes sooner than later but I'm not ready to blame anyone just yet. Ironically, while I hate Vista generally, Protools actually actually runs better on it for me than it did with XP (an OS I certainly prefer). Go figure...
Yeah, I definitely agree that Windows 7 couldn't possibly be bug free. No OS is, but since it is built off of Windows Vista, and is an improvement over Vista, I can't see it being very buggy. You are most certainly right about compatibility, but being that Windows 7 is the star of this OS generation, I'm sure every developer on the planet is working overtime to get their drivers to work on Windows 7 sooner rather than later.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound from MBox 2 in Windows Guesswork 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-05-2012 01:28 PM
no output sound on Mbox 2 pro, windows 7 Myke79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-10-2010 02:09 PM
MBox 2 Pro problems - no sound (Windows XP Pro) charliemizza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-13-2009 10:53 PM
Mbox 2 Pro firewire through Sound Blaster? Kryst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-18-2006 10:15 PM
Mbox and windows xp crackling sound Jakob Frandsen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-09-2004 06:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com