Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:22 AM
Quan Quan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default Questions about XMON inputs and output audio quality.

Hi all!
Im new to D-Command. I have some questions:
1. Is there any diference(audio quality) beetween Stereo Inputs and Main Inputs. Im using:192 AES/EBU stereo output --> Apogee D/A converter-->Xmon Stereo input. Its better to conect to Xmon main input( I mean audio quality).
2. Is there any diference(audio quality) beetween Main Output and Cue output? Its OK to conect Monitor (nearfield) to Cue output or must be conected to Main output.
Thank you for your help!
Quan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:33 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,587
Default Re: Questions about XMON inputs and output audio quality.

I doubt there's a quality difference but be sure you understand the purpose and ramifications of wiring things differently than they were intended.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2008, 07:27 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Questions about XMON inputs and output audio quality.

I've slowly come to realize that the XMON is just an analog monitoring matrix. I haven't heard any coloring since I hooked everything up, and started to record and mix with the D-Command ES. Fortunately, kind people helped me to understand how it all works, and I decided that it would be best to route everything as it were originally intended.

I have this small setup now, just explaining how my 192 I/O, monitoring and XMON are connected:

192 I/O AES/EBU (encl.) -> Benchmark DAC1 (calibrated mode) -> XMON Main inputs 1/5 (L/R)

XMON Main outputs 1/5 -> Dynaudio sub -> Genelec nearfields

192 I/O Analog outputs 1/2 -> XMON Cue input 1 (L/R)

XMON Cue output 1 (L/R) -> Headphones amp

Everything sounds great, and works nicely.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2008, 07:50 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,587
Default Re: Questions about XMON inputs and output audio quality.

Mine too. Except that I split the Headphone send and also returned it to Stereo Rtn 1 so I can easily monitor what the headphone feed sounds like in the speakers and not just the phones out on the front of the D Command.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2008, 08:00 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Questions about XMON inputs and output audio quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Mine too. Except that I split the Headphone send and also returned it to Stereo Rtn 1 so I can easily monitor what the headphone feed sounds like in the speakers and not just the phones out on the front of the D Command.
Yeah, that is a good tip. I definitely see the benefits, I just haven't done it yet.

__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XMON alt output for TV abayman65 ICON & C|24 0 01-08-2009 06:08 AM
XMon ST Inputs legasafe ICON & C|24 0 06-02-2008 05:02 AM
Source for high quality Xmon cables hitp ICON & C|24 0 10-26-2007 08:09 PM
Xmon output meter ???? Palo Alto ICON & C|24 1 09-20-2007 10:46 AM
Audio quality of Inputs 1&2 vs. 3-8? stink 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-07-2000 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com