Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=195354)

Alécio Costa 05-22-2007 01:23 PM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
to the users facing problems.. if this can help us ..and Digi...
What is the assembly date of your problematic machines?

Futurist 05-26-2007 09:57 AM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
Here is my update on the boot problem: I have noticed a change based on how long I hold down the power button. I usually press and release the power button anywhere from around 100-400 ms, and I get the boot hang like everybody else, but this morning was a little different. On the first power up, I pressed the button normally...and it hung. Okay, so on the second attempt, I tried holding the button for around 2 sec. to see what would happen. Well, for the first time ever, the machine booted with no chime! I couldn't believe it, so I tried it again, and it did it again! Usually no chime= no boot on my machine, so imagine my suprise. Also worth noting: after this unusual boot, the volume level icon in the menu bar indicated volume muted (which the Mac did on it's own).
So I'm thinking maybe there is something to this. On the fourth boot I decided to try holding the button even longer, in this case 4-5 sec., and I was startled by a loud beep from the speaker and several flashes of the power light, and followed by a perfectly normal boot.
Anyway, after being just a little freaked out, I shut down and booted with a short duration button push, and everything, including full volume level and chime were restored.
I guess this leaves me wondering: Does the power button hold duration influence the voltage distribution in some way? And what did that beep and flashing light mean? A warning...probably. I don't plan on doing that again to be on the safe side.
What I intend to try for now, is when powering up, to press and release the button as instantaniously as possible!
If I notice a change, I will be sure to post!

P.S. Hi Digidesign, any developements on your end?

Workman 05-27-2007 02:39 AM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Would anyone experiencing this issue be willing to allow us to get your machine in for testing?

We really need one to get this issue resolved. I'm pretty sure arrangements can be made to provide you with a machine to work with while we've got yours.

Please reply to this thread if you're willing.


I have a PowerPC Mac G5 Quad 2.5
4.5GB DDR2 Sdram
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs2
I have a HD3 System w/PCIe cards.
Tiger 10.4.9
I don't know what Video card I have but it runs 2 - 23" Monitors

I have this Boot-Up problem sometimes twice a week and then it may go up to 3 weeks before it happens again.
When booting up the cooling fans will go into high speed and the system hangs up until I hold the reset button in to shut down.
This has been happening since I received my machine in September 2006.
I thought it was just a Mac thing because I never had a Mac before but now being quite familiar with this system
I believe it's not just the Mac. I believe these PCIe cards have somewhat to do with it.
This is definately an issuse that needs to be addressed.

I would love to help solve this.

Yes I'm willing to send in my Power Mac for testing.
I can send you my e-mail address if you like.
Just let me know how to contact you.

Thanks

Your problem is something else, then. The problem we're referring to in this thread is specific to MacPro's.

Actually, I think his problem is exactly the same as the Mac Pro users are experiencing. An earlier post points to a power supply issue with Apple and I have had this exact same issue with a G5 Mac. I went through every problem discussed. Strange hard crash or kernel panic... restart and lights come on and nothing happens...fans go wild and nothing happens... 3rd or 4th boot it works... launch without firewire drives might work... launch without usb peripherals might work... launch with one monitor, etc. These led to a false sense of security since it was all coincidence when it eventually booted. Then one day nothing! No power, no partial start, nada! Sent the Mac in and it was the power supply. It had gone completely. Out of warranty repair later and the with a new power supply, the problem was fixed.

Guys and girls, this is a Mac problem. Get your computer power supply checked. Best of luck.

Alécio Costa 05-27-2007 08:41 AM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
but if it is a power supply problem, how can we still have so many brand new MAC Pros somewhat refusing to work properly when pcie cards are seated?

A friend of mine bought two machines last month, one in Brazil and one in the USA.

The foreign machine does the same.

JohnnyG 05-31-2007 12:40 AM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
Mac Pro 2.66GHZ, 10.4.9, 3GB Ram, HD3, 192, 7.3.1cs2

I've never experienced this issue. I reboot multiple times daily. It must only be some Mac Pros or some other (hardware) variable.

Ordered my Mac Pro direct from Apple 2 weeks ago.

meangus 06-07-2007 02:52 PM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
What happened to Digidesign on this issue? Nothing since May 10th. Are they working on it?

Alécio Costa 06-08-2007 10:37 AM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
2 weeks ago... so... towards early May, right?

jamieboss1 06-08-2007 11:07 AM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
Quote:

What happened to Digidesign on this issue? Nothing since May 10th. Are they working on it?

good question.. can't wait to get this resolved.

Futurist 06-08-2007 12:46 PM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
Hmmm, I wonder why JohnnyG's rig isn't having the problem!

Let's hope Digi's on the verge of a solution. A status update would be helpful. Glass half full!

GuyPicks 06-08-2007 05:19 PM

Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem
 
Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Would anyone experiencing this issue be willing to allow us to get your machine in for testing?

We really need one to get this issue resolved. I'm pretty sure arrangements can be made to provide you with a machine to work with while we've got yours.

Please reply to this thread if you're willing.


I have a PowerPC Mac G5 Quad 2.5
4.5GB DDR2 Sdram
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs2
I have a HD3 System w/PCIe cards.
Tiger 10.4.9
I don't know what Video card I have but it runs 2 - 23" Monitors

I have this Boot-Up problem sometimes twice a week and then it may go up to 3 weeks before it happens again.
When booting up the cooling fans will go into high speed and the system hangs up until I hold the reset button in to shut down.
This has been happening since I received my machine in September 2006.
I thought it was just a Mac thing because I never had a Mac before but now being quite familiar with this system
I believe it's not just the Mac. I believe these PCIe cards have somewhat to do with it.
This is definately an issuse that needs to be addressed.

I would love to help solve this.

Yes I'm willing to send in my Power Mac for testing.
I can send you my e-mail address if you like.
Just let me know how to contact you.

Thanks

Your problem is something else, then. The problem we're referring to in this thread is specific to MacPro's.

Actually, I think his problem is exactly the same as the Mac Pro users are experiencing. An earlier post points to a power supply issue with Apple and I have had this exact same issue with a G5 Mac. I went through every problem discussed. Strange hard crash or kernel panic... restart and lights come on and nothing happens...fans go wild and nothing happens... 3rd or 4th boot it works... launch without firewire drives might work... launch without usb peripherals might work... launch with one monitor, etc. These led to a false sense of security since it was all coincidence when it eventually booted. Then one day nothing! No power, no partial start, nada! Sent the Mac in and it was the power supply. It had gone completely. Out of warranty repair later and the with a new power supply, the problem was fixed.

Guys and girls, this is a Mac problem. Get your computer power supply checked. Best of luck.

Hey workman,
So your not having problems now, right?
I've not had my power supply checked yet but I'm still having problems.
It's under warranty but I have to wait now for a couple weeks to get it checked.
Thanks for the heads-up.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com