Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   Need a Mac for Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=408828)

The_Bear 03-08-2020 01:21 AM

Need a Mac for Pro Tools

Hi there :)
I'm a student learning Pro Tools and I need to buy a suitable Mac.
Problem is, I don't have a clue on which one to choose. iMac or Mac Pro, and which model to choose.

I would love to get some recommendations and tips, thanks in advance ;)

creativecontrol 03-08-2020 06:03 AM

Re: Need a Mac for Pro Tools

Greetings,

This very much depends on what kind of work you expect to perform with the machine. I would start by having you reference the list of approved and qualified computers for Pro Tools here:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...m-Requirements

If portability is essential, one of the MacBook Pro’s can certainly fit the bill. The 2018 Mac Mini systems, when upgraded, can also be exceptionally capable workstations. Start with the above link and assess your requirements and work within your budget to procure a machine.

best,

Jeff

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

The_Bear 03-09-2020 07:58 AM

Thanks for the reply Jeff!
I search for a Desktop, portability doesn't really matter to me.
Is there any difference between the iMac and the Mac Pro for Pro Tools? Any performance differences or something?
Thanks in advance

creativecontrol 03-09-2020 09:00 AM

Of the currently qualified Mac machines on that list, the iMac Pro’s are some of the most capable, certainly more so than the 2013 Mac Pro machines.

best,

Jeff

zoff 03-09-2020 11:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creativecontrol (Post 2556525)
Of the currently qualified Mac machines on that list, the iMac Pro’s are some of the most capable, certainly more so than the 2013 Mac Pro machines.

best,

Jeff