Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug... (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=263329)

nhaudio 01-05-2010 02:11 PM

ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Hey.

Just updated ProTools to 8.0.3 on two systems and have found a major problem:

If I save and close a session that has a video file in it (.dv which is going out firewire to a Canopus ADVC110), when we try to reopen the session, ProTools 'Unexpectedly Quits' when trying to rebuild windows (the last few status updates you get when a session is opening).

Sessions with no video file open fine, no problem whatsoever.

I was thinking this was a Waves issue, as we have both Platinum and 360 bundles (v7), but then I realized the video was the common problem.

We can't work like this! We open various tv commercial sessions all day, and rebooting each time is brutal!!!

Help!!

nhaudio 01-05-2010 02:18 PM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Ooops, forgot to add:

MacPro 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
3 GB RAM
OS X 10.5.8
ProTools HD3 v8.0.3
Waves Platinum and 360 (Installer v7r5)
Canopus ADVC100
Audio on internal SATA Drives (not system)
Video on separate internal SATA Drive (also not system)

Brandonx1 01-05-2010 02:21 PM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nhaudio (Post 1527104)
Ooops, forgot to add:

MacPro 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
3 GB RAM
OS X 10.5.8
ProTools HD3 v8.0.3
Waves Platinum and 360 (Installer v7r5)
Canopus ADVC100
Audio on internal SATA Drives (not system)
Video on separate internal SATA Drive (also not system)

Is your Canopus working well? Seems like that could be the problem.

blank 01-05-2010 03:08 PM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
I have the exact same problem, changed the canopus problem stills.

bug happens randomly but once it's started you have to reboot.

I also have a pretty similar system config

Bob Brown 01-05-2010 03:13 PM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Hi,

I would like to help figure out what is going on with your system/sessions.

In Pro Tools 8.0.3, we added better and more robust logging to help track down problems like the one you are seeing. When Pro Tools crashes, some information about the crash is written out to a log file. The log files are kept in the "LogFiles" folder that is next to the Pro Tools application.

Here's what you need to do...

1) Reproduce the crash you are seeing.
2) Look in the LogFiles folder and find the latest log file. The file name ends with .dlog
3) Email this "dlog" file to vi@digidesign.com. Please include your DUC user name and the hyper-link to this DUC thread (http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=262158) so I can track which post this came from.

Please put my name in the subject line of the email.

Thanks!

nhaudio 01-06-2010 06:59 AM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Ok, the Canopus is definitely part of the problem.

I've found a workaround for now. It seems if the Canopus is powered off when I launch a session, it opens fine. Then I can turn the Canopus back on and work as normal. So for now, I plan to turn it off before opening any session to keep workflow... well... flowing.

I'll also send the log file.

blank 01-06-2010 07:22 AM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Mail sent.

My first impression was that it was caused by the presence of sd2 files coming from mtools in the session.

all crashes I got were having both a visual dv file exported with quicktime as a .dv and the presence of sd2 files in the audio file folder.

It always spoof out when opening the session, if you can finish to open the session protools seems to operate normally after. Once a session opening gone bad you need to reboot to reopen that particular session ( you still can open other sessions but the bug will promptly show his ugly face again on another session ) . If you reopen that particular session you have 1 chance on 2 to get a kernel panic.

it's kinda sad honestly :)

regards,

soulvacuum 01-06-2010 08:30 AM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nhaudio (Post 1527608)
Ok, the Canopus is definitely part of the problem.

I've found a workaround for now. It seems if the Canopus is powered off when I launch a session, it opens fine. Then I can turn the Canopus back on and work as normal. So for now, I plan to turn it off before opening any session to keep workflow... well... flowing.

I'll also send the log file.

This is a confirmed work around.

We have been running two seperate HD systems each with it's own Canopus ADVC110 for at least 6 months, and the problem (precisely as described by others) has only occurred with the 8.0.3 update. Note Blank that we use Quicktime DV files and NO SD2 files, so you can likely rule out SD2 files as the culprit.

blank 01-06-2010 09:50 AM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by soulvacuum (Post 1527640)
This is a confirmed work around.

We have been running two seperate HD systems each with it's own Canopus ADVC110 for at least 6 months, and the problem (precisely as described by others) has only occurred with the 8.0.3 update. Note Blank that we use Quicktime DV files and NO SD2 files, so you can likely rule out SD2 files as the culprit.

This is a pretty good news for me that sd2 files are not involved in that problem.

The workaround is a total pita for us but we will work that way for now.

laki 01-06-2010 07:14 PM

Re: ProTools 8.0.3 Big Bug...
 
I can confirm this bug as well. Have duplicated it across 5 of our systems. Leopard and Snow Leopard as well. Happens when running session/video from both firewire storage and internal storage. Removed every single plugin (except for the mixer and elastic). Rolling back to 8.0.1 fixes the issue.

I will also email crash logs.

Intel 2x2.66 Ghz Dual-Core Intel
3 GB 667 MHz DDR2-FB-DIMM
8.0.3 on 10.5.8 and 10.6.2
Firewire Storage
Canopus ADVC 110 (The white one)
HD3, 192 and 96 i/o
ICON D-Control x2
C24 x3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com