Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Tips & Tricks (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Forcing the cursor to start at the beginning of the song during playback (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=411385)

EVaschon 08-03-2020 04:29 PM

Forcing the cursor to start at the beginning of the song during playback

I am looking all over the place and I can't seem to find a simple, straight answer to this simple question:

"Is there a way to force the cursor to jump back to the very beginning of the song during playback?"

Please don't give me a complicated lecture about cursor placement and all that stuff. I'm new at this and each time I attempt to manually place the cursor at the beginning of the song, it's not really the ("beginning") of the song - it's a few notes in. Apparently, to get the beginning of the song, I have to zoom in several times to truly place the cursor at the very beginning of the song. (which is a pain in the butt). Surely there is a simple ways to make the stupid thing start at the very beginning of the song?

jeffro 08-03-2020 04:35 PM

Re: Forcing the cursor to start at the beginning of the song during playback

1 Attachment(s)
Unless your song starts somewhere after the session's start time... Return To Zero button -or- press [Return] on Mac or [Enter] on Windows.

albee1952 08-03-2020 05:38 PM

Drop markers and learn about the quick locate function. For me, I drop markers at the following locations for 99% of music recordings:
1-count-in
2-Song start
3-V1(verse 1)
4-Pre1(pre-chorus)
5-C1(first chorus
6-TA(turn around or tag)
etc, etc. If you're not using markers....:eek::D