Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   digi 003 desk working with Mojave? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404362)

nwarren1981 05-06-2019 06:20 AM

digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
Hi,

I'd just thought that I'd ask before going out and buying all the adapters I need to hook the 003 firewire up to a 2018 Macbook Pro to see if anyone is having success with it working with OSX Mojave 10.14?


I'm running protools 12.5

Thanks,

Nick

albee1952 05-07-2019 05:38 PM

Re: digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
Wait. AFAIK, even Pro Tools 12.5 is spotty with Mojave(2019 might solve that):o

nwarren1981 05-08-2019 11:13 PM

Re: digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
Thanks Dave, I ended up risking it and getting the 2 adapters and somehow it's working. I've only been messing around with it for 5 mins but everything seems ok. If it starts messing up I'll do an update in case someone else is looking at doing it but for now all good:-)

mike59271 05-14-2019 05:36 AM

Re: digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
Hey! I am really struggling to get this to work for me.

I have Mojave running on my Macbook (newer version with all Thunderbolt 3 adapters). And then I have Pro Tools 12 running as well. I haven't upgraded pro tools to the most recent 2019 version which was released this past week (just found out about it).

I had to hook up the 003 by going FW > (FW800 --> Thunderbolt 2 Dongle) > (Thunderbolt 2 --> Thunderbolt 3 Dongle). Doing this, if I do "About this Mac" in the devices section I can see that it registers there is an 003 Digi device. However, when I open Pro Tools, it's nowhere to be found in the hardware section and the 003 just contineus to say OFFLINE.

I downloaded the most recent drivers and installed those but when I open the Avid 003 Family app, it says something to the effect of "No 00 Family device has ever been connected to this computer. Please connect one now". Nothing will resolve this for me, not restarting or powering down and back up the 003.

Any ideas on what I am doing wrong? I could really use the help here, please and thank you x1000!!!

Funk-O-Meter 06-12-2019 02:38 PM

Re: digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
I'm gonna resurrect this thread as I'm dealing with getting an 003 controller working with PT 2019 and Mojave on a Mac Pro Trashcan with an apple firewire dongle.

Just like Mike my Apple System Report shows the 003 connected via firewire but the 003 Family Driver doesn't recognize it.

To troubleshoot the 003 I booted into a Mtn Lion partition I keep as a backup on my old 2012 MBP, installed the 003 driver and everything is working fine in PT10. I can try PT2019 and Sierra on the MBP as well if need be.

NWarren says he got everything working in Mojave and we haven't heard from him since so that suggests its possible.

Hummm..

Funk-O-Meter 06-12-2019 04:04 PM

Re: digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
Update:

After some time of working at it, I got the 003 drivers to recognize my 003 and it's working in PT 2019.5 in Mojave but with some stability issues. I'm going to keep working with it and see if it's going play nicely or If It's going to go up for sale.

When you install the drivers the first time you may get a message saying warning you that Avid/Digi Family Drivers wants access to your machine and you should go into settings and allow it. It only came up once in multiple instal attempts and I never found how I should respond in settings until some hours later I notice a little button which appeared only temporarily in security settings labeled "allow". I believe it was in the "Accessibility" pane but as it's gone now since I clicked it and told Mojave to allow access. I rebooted and the 003 driver window showed a connected 003 console and Pro Tools found it. A few minutes after I made these corrections another warning screen popped saying the Pro Tools App wanted to access and took me right to the Accessibility pane where I made the setting change.

Running some burn in tests to see if it's stable after all that. Then I have to figure out if I can use it as just a control surface along side my Apollo X8. I'll report back.

Funk-O-Meter 06-12-2019 05:58 PM

Re: digi 003 desk working with Mojave?
 
Another update:

Well, it looks like PT 2019 isn't going to play well with the ole' 003. I had a few VI's behaved very oddly in one session, occasionally the 003's faders wouldn't follow the faders in PT when I opened a session, and there's one session I created only last week on this very rig that will freeze every time when I move the shuttle wheel requiring a force quit from Activity Monitor.

It was worth a shot I guess. Got a 003 in good shape for sale if anyone running an earlier PT version wants one. A great controler really.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com