Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation… (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=76565)

rogerhavoc 08-10-2003 11:11 AM

Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
I have 2 grand to spend with an Audio and Graphics workstation, and I would like to know if you guys know if the Intel E7505 Chipset would work with DIGI 002.

The Specifications:

Vision Dual (2) Xeon 2.66GHz / 1024MB DDR / 120GB HDD/ CDRW+DVD / nVidia 256MB Video / XP Professional / CAD-Graphic Workstation
PRICE: $1,999.99


• Dual [2] Intel® Xeon 2.66GHz HyperThread CPUs
• 533MHz Front Side Bus
• 512K Cache
• Dual [2] CoolerMaster PRO Heat Sink Fans
• TYAN S2668an Dual Xeon Motherboard
• Intel E7505 Chipset
• 1GB (1024MB) Micron Crucial PC2100 DDR Memory
• Dual Channel [512MB x 2] up to 4GB Max.
• 120GB 7200RPM ATA100 Hard Drive
• 48x24x48x16 LG Combo CDRW/DVD Drive [black]
• 1.44MB Floppy Drive [black]
• Intel 10/100Mbps Ethernet
• NVIDIA GeForce FX5600 256MB DDR 8X AGP Video
• IEEE 2-Port PCI FireWire Card
• US Robotics 56K PCI Fax/Modem Card
• Vision Platinum Silver Tower Chassis
• Extra Side & Rear Cooling Fans
• Front & Rear USB 2.0 Ports [6 total
• PS/2 Internet Kbd/Mouse/Spkrs [black/silver]
• Microsoft Windows XP Professional

Additional Specifications:
• Chassis
Vision Platinum Tower [black/silver]
400-Watt XEON Power Supply
• Motherboard
Tyan S2668AN Dual Xeon DDR
Maximum Memory: 4GB
Supports Dual Channel DDR Mode
• Video
NVIDIA GeForce FX5600 GPU, Ultra780
Supports AGP 2X/4X/8X Modes
Memory size: 256MB with ultra fast DDR
Support Composite, DVI, S-Video, TV-Out
TV-Out resolution up to 800x600
Support high resolution up to 2048x1536@75Hz
• Expansion Slots
[1] AGP Pro50 8x/4x
[5] PCI 32-bit 33MHz
• 10 Drive Bays
[4] External 5.25"
[2] External 3.5"
[4] Internal 3.5"
• External Ports
[1] VGA Video
[1] TV-Out
[1] RJ-45 LAN w/LEDs
[1] 25-pin SPP/ECP/EPP Parallel
[2] 9-pin UART Serial
[6] High Speed USB 2.0
[2] PS/2 Keyboard/Mouse
[3] Audio In/Out/Microphone
[2] IEEE 1394 FireWire
[2] Fax/Modem


I just would like to know if this would do the job.
Any Help would be appreciated.

rogerhavoc 08-10-2003 08:45 PM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Thanx Chris,

I'm gonna order this week. Sweeeeeeet!!!!


[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Allen Hallada 08-10-2003 09:54 PM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Rogerio,
Three things I would suggest is to make sure you get a good return policy if it doesn't work with PTLE. I would stick with Micron PC2700 RAM or Corsair. I'd also get a second hard drive for the audio WD or Hitachi ATA100 7200rpm with the 8MB cache. I'm looking forward to seeing how it turns out for you. Keep us posted.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

rogerhavoc 08-10-2003 10:47 PM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Allen Hallada:
Rogerio,
Three things I would suggest is to make sure you get a good return policy if it doesn't work with PTLE. I would stick with Micron PC2700 RAM or Corsair. I'd also get a second hard drive for the audio WD or Hitachi ATA100 7200rpm with the 8MB cache. I'm looking forward to seeing how it turns out for you. Keep us posted.
Allen [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Thanx for the suggestion. They have a good return policy. I have an extra Corsair 1024 RAM already, and also an audio drive just waiting for my new rig. I will keep you guys posted. I'm very curious to see how good (or bad) DUAL XEON will go with PTLE. I will let you know when i put my hands on it!!! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]


Thanx again,

rogerhavoc 08-11-2003 12:14 AM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Bump!

Chris Cavell 08-11-2003 12:39 AM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Looks good to me. I would get a bigger psu for that thing though and maybe a different brand of ram. No one has really tested that chipset, but I have a feeling it would be okay b/c it is all intel throughout the board. Also, I'm not sure about the firewire listed. I use a fireconnect 4300 by adaptec, it's on the digi list, and any of the recommended cards will do fine, I'm just not sure about the onboard stuff. Good luck man.

rogerhavoc 08-11-2003 12:47 AM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Chris Cavell:
I use a fireconnect 4300 by adaptec, it's on the digi list, and any of the recommended cards will do fine
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hey Chris,

Thanx for your response. About the firewie card, i do have an extra fireconnect 4300 by adaptec, and i would use it anyway to avoid sharing the same bus with the external firewire Hard Disk. I'm planning to use the internal firewire for my external HD, and the fireconnect 4300 for DIGI. Hope that it works.

Thanx again,

Chris Cavell 08-11-2003 12:54 AM

Re: Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation…
 
Cool [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] , I'm anxious to see how the system specs out for you. Seriously though, I'd be looking at an antec 630 watter. Your case may be noisy, but you won't regret the upgrade!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com