Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 12 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142)
-   -   exporting gapless cd (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=387981)

stevesound 01-11-2017 08:59 AM

exporting gapless cd
 
Hi there,
I'm trying to export wavs to get them ready to upload to iTunes, Spotify, etc. Some of the tracks on the album flow into each other, so I've mixed it down in pro tools as one long file. I then separated the files at the correct spot in order to make individual tracks. This plays back in pro tools without any gaps or clicks or anything, but when I export the files and load them in iTunes or Spotify there is a gap inserted.

My query is whether I need to do anything to ensure this won't happen when I upload to the stores?

thanks!
Steve

Top Jimmy 01-11-2017 09:11 AM

Re: exporting gapless cd
 
For CDs, audio has to be edited at complete frame sectors to playback gapless. iTunes is using a new method to determine gapless playback. They no longer use the itunpgap flag. I don't understand the new method yet but I believe iTunes only creates it when a CD is ripped in ITunes. You may need to burn a CD of this album and then rip it to guarantee gapless playback.

stevesound 01-11-2017 09:22 AM

Re: exporting gapless cd
 
thanks very much for your reply, that sounds like a good idea, I'll give it a go :)

So much for keeping this album completely in the computer!
steve

Top Jimmy 01-11-2017 10:18 AM

Re: exporting gapless cd
 
This link should help for the cd frame editing.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300359

Tim Ripley 01-11-2017 11:06 AM

Re: exporting gapless cd
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stevesound (Post 2406497)
Hi there,
I'm trying to export wavs to get them ready to upload to iTunes, Spotify, etc. Some of the tracks on the album flow into each other, so I've mixed it down in pro tools as one long file. I then separated the files at the correct spot in order to make individual tracks. This plays back in pro tools without any gaps or clicks or anything, but when I export the files and load them in iTunes or Spotify there is a gap inserted.

My query is whether I need to do anything to ensure this won't happen when I upload to the stores?

thanks!
Steve

One of my clients is an aerobic music company. I routinely upload gapless stuff to iTunes. Make sure that your iTunes preferences are set to not add the gap on playback.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com