Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=402330)

DonaldM 12-08-2018 09:25 AM

Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
This is a question I've had for a while and wanted to get some insights from some of you pros as to how you deal with it. As you all know, nearly every VI, especially the higher end ones, come with their onboard fx of all sorts. The issue I want to address is how do you deal with all those fx when you commit to audio for final mixing? I'm especially thinking more of reverbs and delays than other stuff. Most of the other fx are more for shaping the patch the way you want it to sound.



So, if I have a patch in, say, Dune 2, and I have some Dune 2 delay and/or reverb, I really don't like to commit to audio with that as I would have to keep re-doing it as I tweak the mix with that patch and its fx. On the other hand, its not always a simple matter of adding another reverb and/or delay either, because quite often the built in fx on the VI sound really great.



A couple VI's (ie, Serum) have provided their FX as an FX only option, so you can easily duplicate just the fx to any patch committed to audio. But not many VI's do that.



So, what the pro tips here?



Thanks

albee1952 12-09-2018 09:10 PM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Hmmmm, this is a really good question, and I look forward to reading what others do. Having said that, I'll offer my own preference;


1-if I am really committed to what I am hearing from the VI plugin, I will likely commit it, just as it is(probably with following plugins kept "live")


2-re VI plugins in general, I(personal choice) often don't use the built-in effects, and will choose my own in the same way I treat real instrument processing. Why? Mostly because, by choosing my own effects, I can create an overall sound that is not a carbon copy of the thousand other users of that same VI(example: Superior Drummer has a bunch of ambient and room sounds, which I usually leave off. I use my own "drum room" (from my choice of plugins that include Avid SPACE, IK Classik Room, Eventide T-verb, Abbey Road Chambers) so my drum tracks, done with SD don't sound exactly like the next hundred SD users:o

DonaldM 12-10-2018 07:54 AM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Dave - Thanks for the reply. I also hope others weigh in. I agree with you regarding drums. I hardly ever use any of the drum fx for any of the drum VI's I use and normally just record the raw drum part, just like I would a live kit, and then process accordingly.


Synth patches are another matter, though. Quite often I find the built in reverb or delay sounds just right for the patch, but once committed, you can't tweak, so I either have to go back to the instrument track and re-tweak and re-commit or settle for a different fx after committing.



I'm probably making too big a deal about this, but I have wondered what the pro tip is for this.

albee1952 12-10-2018 09:09 AM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DonaldM (Post 2508838)

Synth patches are another matter, though. Quite often I find the built in reverb or delay sounds just right for the patch, but once committed, you can't tweak, so I either have to go back to the instrument track and re-tweak and re-commit or settle for a different fx after committing.

This makes a good case for using Track Freeze, until the project is done and ready to archive. Come on folks! Need more input:D

DonaldM 12-10-2018 12:23 PM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2508849)
This makes a good case for using Track Freeze, until the project is done and ready to archive. Come on folks! Need more input:D


What Dave said...more input please! Want to hear some ideas on this!:cool:

amagras 12-10-2018 12:30 PM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DonaldM (Post 2508879)
What Dave said...more input please! Want to hear some ideas on this!:cool:

It's all your fault Donald, you said you wanted to hear the pros [emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6]

DonaldM 12-10-2018 06:01 PM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by amagras (Post 2508880)
It's all your fault Donald, you said you wanted to hear the pros [emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6][emoji6]


Oh, you're hilarious, Andrei. You're a pro! (and don't try to say you're not, I know better!):cool:

amagras 12-10-2018 06:28 PM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DonaldM (Post 2508945)
Oh, you're hilarious, Andrei. You're a pro! (and don't try to say you're not, I know better!):cool:

My bank account strongly disagree [emoji28]

albee1952 12-10-2018 07:16 PM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by amagras (Post 2508949)
My bank account strongly disagree [emoji28]

:p:p:p:p:p Boy do I know that feeling:eek:

DonaldM 12-11-2018 07:48 AM

Re: Dealing with fx on various VI's and Mixing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2508962)
:p:p:p:p:p Boy do I know that feeling:eek:


So, what makes one a "Pro"? Is the amount of money earned? Do you have to be full time? I've often wondered where the line is between Pro and not-Pro. (perhaps this is for another thread!)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com