Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 11 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   CPU limit? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=408538)

bifbangpow 02-16-2020 01:32 PM

CPU limit?
 
I'm trying to limit the amount of memory reserved when PT 11 runs so that I can livestream it on twitch. But in 11.3 theres no CPU limit function in the playback engine menu. Can someone help me do this?

Darryl Ramm 02-16-2020 09:36 PM

Re: CPU limit?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bifbangpow (Post 2554411)
I'm trying to limit the amount of memory reserved when PT 11 runs so that I can livestream it on twitch. But in 11.3 theres no CPU limit function in the playback engine menu. Can someone help me do this?

What are you trying to do?

Are you looking to limit CPU or memory? What exactly happens if you don’t? Pro Tools crashes (exactly what error)) or twitch is not steaming smoothly?

Pro Tools will Automatically take care of CPU Workload placement (But 11 is worse at thread balancing than recent releases). You can also significantly reduce CPU load with track freeze and commit in later releases.).

Better systems specs may help as well. Post a SiSoft Sandra report, we have not clear info on CPU specs or Memory amount.

JFreak 02-16-2020 10:35 PM

Re: CPU limit?
 
Livestream tells me offline processes such as freeze and commit are not an option. However I can confirm 2019.x releases are much much more cpu effective than any PT11/12 version you can find.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com