Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Wave driver/ASIO driver (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=105730)

clausiii 05-12-2004 04:00 AM

Wave driver/ASIO driver
 
Please, I need some advise! Can someone explain, how to get them to work properly?
I canīt get them work with Wavelab (4.0.1b) at 24bit/48kHz. 44.1/16 works fine. The "Sound Mapper" of Microsoft works! I canīt get it!
btw the DigiWaveDriver ainīt able to record with WL it doesnīt appear in the WL prefs.
Should I set the DigiWaveDriver as system audio driver in the sounds and multimedia settings in XP?
btw (part 2) I tried the MMEhelper, it made the driver in WL visible, but it seems, this is not a "multiformat"-driver (for me for now).

as an appendix one more question: whatīs the right workflow:
bouncing my 48/24 mix in ProTools @48/24 and mastering and conversion this file in WL?
bouncing my 48/24 mix in ProTools @44.1/16 and mastering this file in WL?

Thanks for your hopefully soon coming comments...!

PT 6.4
Digi001

Bazzle 05-12-2004 07:21 AM

Re: Wave driver/ASIO driver
 
Wavelab works I/O with the ASIO..Go to Options>Preferences>Audio card and select Digi ASIO from the drop down list...

Wavelab can convert it any way you like..I like to do the final conversion in Wavelab.

You can set the Wavedriver as Default in system if you like.remember the Wavedriver is play back only in 6.4

clausiii 05-12-2004 07:45 AM

Re: Wave driver/ASIO driver
 
Thanks for your reply Bazzle!

The ASIO driver doesnīt work too @ 48/24. Thatīs my problem! Both drivers do 44.1/16 only!
Havenīt tried out, what the Windows Media Player does with 48/24 files, but when I hit play in WL, Wavelab opens an error message like "this sample rate is not supported or another application uses the driver" or something similar...

Bazzle 05-12-2004 08:00 AM

Re: Wave driver/ASIO driver
 
I never use 48/24 but Wavelab will play back through the ASIO 44.1/24..When you open the new file you have to set the audio properties.Same thing when you record.The ASIO supports 96khz/24 bit as does Wavelab..

For fun I just recorded through the ASIO into Wavelab 48/24, it worked fine both I/O.

Maybe another app has a lock on the ASIO make sure all apps release it when not using it.

lemix 05-12-2004 06:15 PM

Re: Wave driver/ASIO driver
 
Quote:

Maybe another app has a lock on the ASIO make sure all apps release it when not using it.

Good point... PT LE maybe???

clausiii >>
One cannot use ASIO signed apps with PT running !

cheers,

Rail Jon Rogut 05-12-2004 06:20 PM

Re: Wave driver/ASIO driver
 
To get the ASIO driver in WaveLab to "take" can be tricky.. do a search on the DUC where this was previously discussed.. some users weren't getting the ASIO driver in WaveLab to "take" because of the way the pull down menu in the WaveLab prefs works.

Rail


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com