Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Improve Performance (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=104086)

matts9383 04-23-2004 02:57 PM

Improve Performance
 
Hi,

My current setup is a Mac g4 733 Mhz with 1.5g RAM. I have a digi001 running PTLE 6.1 on OS 10.2.6

My biggest problem with my setup is the slow downs and the constant fear of crashing when I'm hitting track counts about 8-10. I'm not using a ridiculous amount of plugins (though they are the Waves native power pack plugins), and I'm getting a lot of slow down when I'm tracking. I'm trying to figure out a way to remedy this with my next purchase. I've thought of getting a UAD project pack or powercore element, but I love my waves plugs and i don't want to replace them. I also thought of getting a CPU upgrade, to something like a dual 933 mhz powerlogix setup. However, I heard that it doesn't increase track or plugin count that dramatically. The slow downs basically consist of a long lag before hitting record, and slow response to drawing fades and automation, etc. Most of the time its not life ending, but it can cause the computer to crash occasionally, which can be a pain in the ass. basically, I'm wondering what my best option would be for improving performance for a reasonable price. I don't wanna go out and buy a G5, or even a new G4 for that matter, but I would like to get my setup now to a point where I'm satisfied with it because it seems like digi will soon be leaving us 001 users out in the cold. Any suggestions?

thanks,
matt

letrev 04-23-2004 03:56 PM

Re: Improve Performance
 
Matt, you might try updating to OS 10.2.8

I've found it to run more smoothly with PTLE 6.1 on my Powerbook 867. That said, Waves can by awfully CPU-hungry. I try to minimize my RTAS by processing tracks with audiosuite whenever possible.

sdemott 04-23-2004 05:40 PM

Re: Improve Performance
 
With my G4 867 (QuickSilver), 640 MB RAM, 001, PTLE 6.2.3 & OS 10.3.3 I get 32 tracks and about 8 auxes (with lots of plugs). At that point I'm hitting about 65-70% on the CPU meter. The redraws are a bit slow, but still usable (could be the older NVidia video card).

I find that OS 10.3.3 is the key for me. In the previous versions of OSX I was not running that smoothly.

Make a backup of your boot drive using Carbon Copy Cloner and then upgrade to OS 10.3.3 and PTLE 6.2.3 or 6.4 if you're daring.

I was hesitant moving from 10.2.6 to 10.3.2 (and then 10.3.3) at first, but now I am so glad I risked it (between paying gigs - of course. I never test anything new on a paying client). I'm still thinking of adding more RAM and a GigaDesigns dual G4 upgrade, but right now things are working so well I'm reluctant to do anything. So much so that I have the 6.4 update ready to go, but am nervous about causing any problems so it sits and waits.

All caveats apply...YMMV, my $0.02, not intended for human consumption, et al...

HTH

staedtler 04-23-2004 06:06 PM

Re: Improve Performance
 
hi there.
i have a G4 400 that i slapped a powerlogix dual 1.2 on..
i'm on 10.3.3 and le 6.2.2
it can run 32 tracks without any problems..
it only starts to slow down when i go crazy on the plugs..
so you may think about this option...

k.

matts9383 04-23-2004 08:42 PM

Re: Improve Performance
 
As much as I hate to admit it I think you guys might definitely be onto something with upgrading to 10.3.3 and PT 6.2.3... I just hate the fact that I bought 10.2 a few months back and now I'd have to shell out another $150 for 10.3. It really dissapoints me that both Apple and Digidesign (and software developers in general) go nuts with these upgrades (and how they cost so much). I'm DYING to pick up a good controller (I hate mixing with a mouse), but if I can't even get a good track count it looks like I'm screwed before I even get out of the gate. I'll look into the 10.3 thing though...

Thanks,
matt

matts9383 04-23-2004 09:03 PM

Re: Improve Performance
 
ok so i found out that i can get 10.3 with a student discount for $69 so that looks like something i might do with PTLE 6.4

I was thinking that maybe I could get a processor upgrade with this to really max out my G4 and make it last as long as possible...

Any CPU upgrade suggestions that aren't that expensive? I was thinking a dual 933Mhz Powerlogiz for $520

Thanks,
matt


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com