Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=314948)

TheVRsNo$ 01-05-2012 04:58 PM

Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
"Your audio device is configured with an unsupported audio buffer size. Please select on of the following supported buffer sizes in the device control panel: 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, or 2048."

^^^ This is my error message when trying to open Pro Tools 9 with a brand new Tascam US-800. My laptop is a HP DV7-4285dx. I am new to Pro Tools and this device. I've had them both now for over a week and haven't even had the option to create a new project w/ Pro Tools yet or even completely open it! But I do know the Tascam is recieving the signal

So ^ is my problem... I feel like my brain is burning from trying to figure out how/where to change my "audio buffer size" or bypass this error message and finally create a project. PLEASE HELP!

DarylG 01-05-2012 05:03 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Hit "n" as you open PT. This will allow you access to the Playback engine where you can specify all sorts of stuff.

D

TheVRsNo$ 01-05-2012 06:09 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Awesome! Thank you. I will try that.

TheVRsNo$ 01-05-2012 08:10 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DarylG (Post 1886037)
Hit "n" as you open PT. This will allow you access to the Playback engine where you can specify all sorts of stuff.

D

Ok, so now my choices w/ drop-down menus are:

- Host Processors
- CPU Usage Limits
- Delay Compensation Engine

(DAE playback buffer (disk buffer))
- Size
- Cache size

Then has checkbox for: Minimize system memory allocation (takes effect at next restart).

WHAT TO DO NOW!?

TheVRsNo$ 01-05-2012 08:28 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Please someone help w/ my issue ^^^ Imma music guy, not a tech guy!

I know I haven't posted much here. But I've actually only owned Pro Tools for 9 days but still havent been able to create a project. I'm just a noob, I know...

TheVRsNo$ 01-06-2012 07:43 AM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
bump

daeron80 01-06-2012 08:48 AM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
At the top of that dialog (the one that comes up when you hold down N during program launch) is a Current Engine dropdown list. That's where you choose your Tascam interface. If it doesn't appear in that list, the drivers are not properly installed.

After choosing the US-800, choose a H/W Buffer Size. In general, use the smallest one for tracking and the largest one for mixing, if needed. Small buffers give you low throughput latency but require more CPU, which makes for a better tracking experience. Large buffers take the pressure off the CPU at the expense of I/O latency, giving you more power for mixing large sessions.

Top Jimmy 01-06-2012 12:31 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheVRsNo$ (Post 1886034)
But I do know the Tascam is recieving the signal

How? Do you have this interface selected as the Windows audio device? If so, that could very well be your problem. Select something else as the default Windows audio device and try using it in Pro Tools again.

TheVRsNo$ 01-06-2012 02:01 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Top Jimmy (Post 1886378)
How? Do you have this interface selected as the Windows audio device? If so, that could very well be your problem. Select something else as the default Windows audio device and try using it in Pro Tools again.

I'm pretty sure it is at least. I had my mic plugged in to it and phantom power on. Plugged the headphones into the computer and I could hear my vocals from my microphone through the interface and computer into my headphones.

I will try all these things in a couple of hours when I get off work. i appreciate everyones input and PLEASE KEEP IT COMING!

daeron80 01-06-2012 02:25 PM

Re: Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel
 
Top Jimmy is right, as usual. If the Tascam doesn't appear in the Engine Dialog, it doesn't necessarily mean the drivers are installed right. It might be simply that the Windows system or some program has grabbed it and won't let PT see it.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com