Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Mapping the tempo of a track the changes continuously (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=338686)

jschmidtiii 05-11-2013 01:34 PM

Mapping the tempo of a track the changes continuously
 
Hi,

I have a track that changes time continuously and I'd like to be able to make a tempo map so the click stays with the track the entire time. I've done my research on line and it seems everyone solves this problem with the "identify beat" command. They will highlight something like 4 bars, say it starts on bar 1 and ends on bar 5, and then one tempo change will be made. The problem is that the click begins in time but is out of time by the end of the four bars. If I want to do this properly do I have to identify beat ever bar? That seems nuts.
I'm sorry for the silly question but I can't seem to find the answer. Thank you.

Stig Eliassen 05-11-2013 02:20 PM

Re: Mapping the tempo of a track the changes continuously
 
The best method depends on several things. How tight you need the tempo map to be, how defined the rhythm/transients are in the audio you're mapping to, how variable the tempo is in the audio, etc.

Identify Beat works fine, but using it down to every beat gets tedious fast.

Beat Detective also works fine if the audio has pretty clear transients, and a relatively steady beat, and you can create Bar|Beat markers in pretty big chunks at a time.

You can also record yourself tapping, say, quarter notes on a MIDI keyboard, and then analyze the notes with Beat Detective to create a tempo map.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com