Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   MacOS Sonoma (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=426021)

gnjlee 09-26-2023 10:12 AM

MacOS Sonoma

Alright, we all know it isn't supported, but folks are gonna install it anyway. Who is first? And does your PT rig still work following the install? :D

sw rec 09-26-2023 11:15 AM

Re: MacOS Sonoma

Count me out! Mine works splendidly with Ventura, and I have work to do.
If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

Eric Lambert 09-26-2023 11:24 AM

I've been using Sonoma an PT on a non-production Mac for a couple months and it seems fine. It certainly wasn't tested thoroughly.

BScout 09-26-2023 11:33 AM

Sonoma has some major changes to CoreAudio.
That is going to hurt and help some DAWs but plugin manufacturers will also have to do updates. We're almost at the point that plugin makers have moved to Apple ARM AAX so I'm not anxious to beta test what's going to happen next.
Count me out.

Anthony Jr. 09-26-2023 12:00 PM

I’ve seen a handful of moderators mention that they’ve been running Sonoma betas on non-critical computers, and haven’t had much trouble. I’ve even seen a post about how Sonoma fixed a critical ProTools bug prior to the latest update. Really hoping to see a few more hands raised mentioning successes.

I usually wait until .1 updates, but the majority of my post history probably laminates how critical I’ve been of AVID (and even Digidesign back in the day) for taking sometimes 6-9 months to update their software for a new OS. I’ve been even more critical once they switched to a subscription model.

I’m going to wait as long as possible on my M2 Ultra Mac Studio, but considering making the jump on my M1 Max MBP. Really like a lot of refinements this OS update, which would help a lot for my video production workflows. Just excited to dig in with enough go-ahead.

CygnusX-1Bk2 09-26-2023 05:27 PM