Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2019 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   Click count vs Main counter for 6/8 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407039)

midnightrambler 11-04-2019 01:52 PM

Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
Can anyone explain why, when I have a 6/8 meter, the click still stubbornly insists on counting in 3? Can't quite work out if it's me or ProTools that's at fault here. :confused:

https://giphy.com/gifs/QBG45ibHC8k0kLe0PW

JFreak 11-04-2019 02:05 PM

Re: Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
It looks to me your main counter isn't 6/8 but hard to say because of there resolution. Just that I am seeing a dot in there, and the click plugin isn't like 1-2 would equal 1, 3-4 would equal 2, 5-6 would equal 3 so double-check that first

Might be a bug as well, but maybe it is a config error

midnightrambler 11-04-2019 03:03 PM

Re: Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
I don't seem to be able to get it to just click 8ths no matter what I set the values to. It always ends up sounding like a waltz.:(

https://youtu.be/il_6maP6xQU

_JJ_ 11-04-2019 10:30 PM

Re: Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
1 Attachment(s)
as weird as it seems, try changing the value here.

Rich Breen 11-05-2019 10:23 AM

Re: Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
You set tempo resolution in the tempo event dialog and click value in the meter event dialog. So for a typical 6/8, you'd set your tempo resolution to dotted-quarter, and in your 6/8 meter event set clicks to 1/8th notes.

midnightrambler 11-06-2019 04:08 AM

Re: Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
Thanks guys.

Quote:

Originally Posted by _JJ_ (Post 2543618)
as weird as it seems, try changing the value here.

Never even noticed that option before, thanks. Just assumed all functions would be available within the click plugin itself (I know, silly me).

Not sure why this doesn't work when you deselect "follow meter" in the plug-in though? Why doesn't the plug-in play 8ths when it's set to it - i.e. why doesn't this setting produce the same result? It only clicks 4 times, and then misses out the final 2.

http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1573041899


Shouldn't there be an additional "meter" option within the plug-in in order to it to click 6 times instead of 4, if you want it to "not follow the meter" ?



Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Breen (Post 2543680)
You set tempo resolution in the tempo event dialog and click value in the meter event dialog. So for a typical 6/8, you'd set your tempo resolution to dotted-quarter, and in your 6/8 meter event set clicks to 1/8th notes.

Thanks - this makes much more sense now I've become aware of the click option above.

midnightrambler 11-06-2019 05:19 AM

Re: Click count vs Main counter for 6/8
 
1 Attachment(s)
Also, what is the point of having these light up as quarter notes when they're so patently not? Surely they should display whatever click you're actually hearing?


https://giphy.com/gifs/huhC8hWwsHbVRsoJNN



I'm not sure the GUI on this click plugin has been very well thought out really.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com