Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407671)

Ben Jenssen 01-03-2020 02:40 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2549815)
Ok then PT should find that keyboard if connected correct and setup correctly in PT and the Mac. No drivers or HUI or anything like that.

Which is what i said.

mophilly 01-04-2020 08:31 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thanks to all who have posted. I really appreciate the suggestions and info.

For the record, here is the current details from my PT project.

-- Hardware and Software
Pro Tools 2019-12
iMac (late 2013) running MacOS Catalina (10.15.2)
Yamaha P-105
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2nd Gen

-- Pro Tools Setup
Hardware: Scarlett
Playback Engine: Scarlett, HW Buffer size 256 Samples, playback cache 1GB
Peripherals: installation defaults
I/O: default paths to Scarlett; all other settings default on installation
MIDI setup:
MIDI Studio: Scarlett and a general device that I named as piano. Manufacturer is Yamaha, nothing in model
MIDI Beat Clock: “Scarlett” enabled, “Expand!2 1” disabled
MIDI Fitler: defaults
MIDI Input Devices: Only Scarlett listed and it is selected

-- Track: 1 (works)
Input: Input 1 of Scarlett, connected to Shure microphone
Output: BO12 (Scarlett analogue 1)
Instrument: nothing
Inserts: AIR non-linear reverb
Sends: none

-- Track: 2 (not working)
Input: no input… what goes here? input, bus or plugin? plug in is greyed out.
Output: BO12 (Scarlett analogue 1)
Instrument: All, none
Insert: multi-channel input > EQ > AIR EQ Kill
Send: none

mophilly 01-04-2020 12:23 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2549812)
Doesn’t the Focusrite Interface have midi in and out? If so just get 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables and connect to the keyboard and if it doesn’t have midi in and out and you dont have USB Midi on the yamaha you need 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables.

Does it look like this on the back?

Yes, the back of the Focusrite Scarlett does have the 5 pin DIN connectors for midi in and out.

However, the Yamaha P-105 has a USB type B connector. https://www.cablestogo.com/learning/...es/usb#!b-type

The cable I have is USB type B to USB type A, similar to this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._0_Type_A.html

I have looked around for a USB to MIDI 5 pin DIN adapter without any luck.

The Yamaha P-105 does have auxiliary output, but that would not be MIDI.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 12:45 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2549918)
The cable I have is USB type B to USB type A, similar to this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._0_Type_A.html

And that's all you need. Plug it in the computer and get going.

mophilly 01-04-2020 02:21 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen (Post 2549921)
And that's all you need. Plug it in the computer and get going.

Yeah! Except it doesn't. I cannot "see" the piano in the PT input.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 02:29 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2549930)
Yeah! Except it doesn't. I cannot "see" the piano in the PT input.

Like I said earlier; unless something is faulty, it should be automatically recognized by PT. Plug it in (the keyboard), restart pro tools, make a instrument track, insert a instrument plugin on it (to make the sound when you hit the keys), and make shure the instrument track is selected (its name is highlighted), and it should work.

mophilly 01-04-2020 02:52 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thank you, Ben. I will try again.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 02:54 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
I'm sorry, I should have pointed out; the piano will not show up in track input selectors. It's a midi controller, and the clue is to select the midi- or instrument track you want it to control.


I hope you're aware that as a midi device, it won't output its own sounds, it will only be a way to trigger instrument plugins.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 03:06 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
So, if you want to use the piano as a sound source, just connect its stereo outputs, L&R, to your interface, make a stereo audio track with input set to 1-2, and rec enable it.

mophilly 01-05-2020 06:37 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thank you, Ben, for taking time to help me through this.

You wrote, "It's a midi controller, and the clue is to select the midi- or instrument track you want it to control." Hm... somewhere along the line I got the impression that the digital piano was not a midi controller. I will work along that idea and set up a new track.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com