Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Artist Series (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Avid S1...I am excited! (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405679)

guitarist9891 07-18-2019 04:47 PM

Avid S1...I am excited!
 
As someone who loves and uses his artist mix daily with pro tools I am really excited about the new S1. Would LOVE to see them side by side. (Artist mix and s1) Also is there actually any new functionality or just updated hardware?

Last question - I hope the iPad holder can be removed as I plan to use the device on its own most of the time. Nothing against pt control it’s just I find I only use the app when I track vocals as it allows me to remotely control PT when I am by my mic.

Will definitely pick 2 of them up. Almost bought a second artist mix on eBay like 5 days ago...phew��

BScout 07-18-2019 05:18 PM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
In the barebone pictures (no iPad) it does not look removal. It looks like one piece as part of the overall case. Of course it is much lower profile without the iPad in place.

Frank Kruse 07-19-2019 07:49 AM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2533168&postcount=24

guitarist9891 07-19-2019 10:15 AM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
Thanks for the link. I can live without automation select on S1. I rarely switch automation modes on the artist mix, usually do that with my trackball. The fact that the iPad holder is permanent is unfortunate. Still if it has better faders and rotary encoders it is an improvement.

Maybe I can find a couple of really cheap android tablets and just use those as a permanent meter bridge.

BScout 07-19-2019 11:17 AM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Frank Kruse (Post 2533170)

Guy is wrong on automation.

You hit shift and then click on the Rec button next to the fader (which is why there's a little "A" button in inverted white on the Rec button -- same as the Dock fader which has that option to also change automation modes)

EddieJones 07-19-2019 11:25 AM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
The Tablet holder isn't that high and was designed to go under an normal monitor. You can even then pull the monitor down over it.
It has new automation red and green LED's next to the Faders and Knobs which greatly helps see whats writing. New Track Color LED's which are also softkeys. Strong magnets in the sides that hold multiple S1's together. We moved the Sel and Rec up out of the way of the fader too.
The new Control App is completely rewritten from the ground up adding many UI customizations, Portrait mode, EQ/DYN graphs, Android and iOS, Phone and Tablet and when tied with an S1 provides the same high resolution meters S6 has including gain reduction. Its will still be free.

ubxf 07-19-2019 12:46 PM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
will the new control app add the metering feature to the S3 as well as the S1

EddieJones 07-19-2019 12:53 PM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ubxf (Post 2533196)
will the new control app add the metering feature to the S3 as well as the S1

We are not sure yet, early days. Top priority is to get it working smoothly for the S1 launch.

ubxf 07-19-2019 02:25 PM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
cool it makes sense, at some point if it's not against company policy i'd love to tryout the beta of the control app

mattrixx 07-19-2019 04:57 PM

Re: Avid S1...I am excited!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by EddieJones (Post 2533197)
We are not sure yet, early days. Top priority is to get it working smoothly for the S1 launch.

I am wondering how the high res metering is tied to the S1 ?? I'd have thought that the app would be agnostic to the surface being used in that sense? ??


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com