Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   VENUE Live Sound Systems (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   S3L Plugin count (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365263)

johnnyo1124 03-10-2015 05:37 AM

S3L Plugin count
 
Hi,

How many plugin slots are in the current S3L software? I'm curious about my current setup, and if it will work in the S3L.

RyanJ 03-10-2015 10:17 AM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
Currently 40 plugin slots

Davoetta 03-10-2015 10:56 AM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
Yes 40 Slots, but not this much DSP to fill all of them to be true!

johnnyo1124 03-10-2015 12:53 PM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
That's what I'm afraid of. How does the DSP stack up against a 3 mix engine system? And how do the AAX plug ins stack up against the TDM stuff, when it comes to DSP usage?

Davoetta 03-10-2015 11:03 PM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
This is an question i cannot answer since i have only an S3L-X.
I find myself ok with the DSP available but if u have a really big Show and need a lot of PlugIns then u are limited for shure.
But u have to keep the size of the Package in mind - small size means also some limitation.

What i have heard/read there are more DSPs on board then active - if that is true and why i dont know?

johnnyo1124 03-11-2015 04:31 AM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
I also see that waves doesn't play with The S3L system. Is there any idea when that will change?

Josh Voyles 03-11-2015 04:36 AM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyo1124 (Post 2240615)
I also see that waves doesn't play with The S3L system. Is there any idea when that will change?

Digigrid states on the Digigrid website that there are plans for AVB support. However, I'm not sure if this is alluding to the S3L system.

If Waves does support the S3L system, I fear there will be additional steps and software needed to make it interface with the Soundgrid system.

Davoetta 03-11-2015 04:56 AM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
Digigrid are just the Interfaces - Waves will not make AAX-DSP Versions of their PlugIns as they said a little while ago.
So if there will once be an Digigrid AVB Interface - u still need an Soundgrid Server and an Control-Computer to run Waves PlugIns.
There will not be an Full Integration in the near future.
At least they told so.

JFreak 03-11-2015 05:09 AM

S3L Plugin count
 
Avid DSP or No DSP, that's what I've been thinking...

Kristo Kotkas 03-11-2015 11:02 AM

Re: S3L Plugin count
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Davoetta (Post 2240588)

What i have heard/read there are more DSPs on board then active - if that is true and why i dont know?

It's real easy to check actually... since in the box we have an HDX card that has 18 DSP chips, but then if you look at your devices tab I bet you can count only 12 chips, 8 allocated and 4 free for plugins.

That gives us what? 6 hidden chips if I'm not mistaken.

So in theory there should be loads of DSP available right in there, ready to go, but Avid has hard time letting go of the old habit of limiting it's own products capabilities :D:o:(

Or then again they might keep the chips hidden so when sampling rate goes up and more DSP is needed for the same amount of work we would not "loose" DSP.

Or then again if all the DSP were available, today, in the S3L then maybe Profile would look bad.. I don't know. All I know is I need ALL these 18 chips for a super nice mix. I like D-verbs, but I would love to run ReVibes instead, but with the current DSP counts it's simply not possible by 50% per chip DSP counts of ReVibe and Sonnox reverb takes even 80%, as my friend has just told me, haven't tested that one myself since my Sonnox license is Accel only.

Avid, there is no point holding back the S3L-horses!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com