Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=261002)

Mattitude 12-07-2009 02:46 PM

Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Hey everyone,

This has only just happened recently. But when I try to play my music, all I get is the Play button flashing a few times with the Stop button lit up next to it.. and my music doesn't play! It says 'Pause' down in the bottom left corner.

Anyone have any ideas why this is happening and what I can do to sort it out? Could it be the recent Pro Tools update I made? I'm running Pro Tools LE 8 and have updated it to 8.0.1. I'm sure I've played the music since the update though.

Thanks guys,
Matt.

shareec70 12-07-2009 02:59 PM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
I had this happen to me just today. I just saved my session, quit protools and restarted it and everything was fine. The computer had been "asleep" previously without ProTools being open so I chalked it up to that. It was quick and easy for me and I know we are supposed to disable sleep but I've never really had a problem and if all it takes is a quick restart of ProTools, I'll leave the sleep function enabled on my mac since I'm not using it all the time. YMMV. Good Luck, hopefully it won't persist for you.

RaySoul 12-07-2009 03:08 PM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Well, for starters, almost EVERYONE here is going to tell you they don't know enough about your system to help because you haven't offered enough detail. Are you running 8.0.1cs1? What is your OS? What kind of computer? What setup precautions have you taken to ensure against this happening?

Keybeeetsss 12-07-2009 03:12 PM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RaySoul (Post 1509110)
Well, for starters, almost EVERYONE here is going to tell you they don't know enough about your system to help because you haven't offered enough detail.

Or, we're jus gonna read the post & not say anything like I & a few others have been doin as of late:cool:

(& I did look @this when it was 1st posted)

Ryan Young 12-07-2009 03:19 PM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
In another post that I answered to, switch your hardware buffer setting to something else, click ok, press play then stop, switch your buffer back to what it was. I don't know why it works, but it works.

RaySoul 12-07-2009 03:54 PM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss (Post 1509116)
Or, we're jus gonna read the post & not say anything like I & a few others have been doin as of late:cool:

(& I did look @this when it was 1st posted)

Yup, then there's that. I just figured I was due to offer a newb a heads up...

tamasdragon 12-08-2009 01:11 AM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Yes, more system details please. :D
Is pt is online? (prime for playback) Or have some external sync thing?

Mattitude 12-08-2009 07:21 AM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Thanks for the replies guys.

Apologies for not posting details about my system. I just thought I might have needed to change something in Pro Tools or something.

I originally installed Pro Tools LE 8 on newest Macbook Pro 13" model (2.26GHz model). I recently updated Pro Tools LE 8 to Pro Tools 8.0.1, because Digidesign advised me to.

Here are some of my Macbook Pro specs:

2.26GHz MacBook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB Memory
160GB hard drive

I'm not sure what specs you guys need so I have provided a link to the specification page at the official Apple website HERE

I have my Macbook Pro firewire linked up to a 500GB G-TECH G-DRIVE. You can also view full specifications of this HERE

I hope this is enough info guys.

Thanks,
Matt.

DigiTechSupt 12-08-2009 09:54 AM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mattitude (Post 1509508)
Thanks for the replies guys.

Apologies for not posting details about my system. I just thought I might have needed to change something in Pro Tools or something.

I originally installed Pro Tools LE 8 on newest Macbook Pro 13" model (2.26GHz model). I recently updated Pro Tools LE 8 to Pro Tools 8.0.1, because Digidesign advised me to.

Here are some of my Macbook Pro specs:

2.26GHz MacBook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB Memory
160GB hard drive

I'm not sure what specs you guys need so I have provided a link to the specification page at the official Apple website HERE

I have my Macbook Pro firewire linked up to a 500GB G-TECH G-DRIVE. You can also view full specifications of this HERE

I hope this is enough info guys.

Thanks,
Matt.

While this is a good start, providing all the necessary info, as well as indicating which troubleshooting steps you've tried, would help everyone a lot more.

See the Help Us Help You and General Troubleshooting threads for details.

guym 03-27-2010 05:37 PM

Re: Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up
 
I just had this happen and it was because I had set the clock source in my M-Audio interface to "external". I set it back to "internal" and everything went back to normal.

It is a confusing UI behaviour, though, and I've never seen an explanation for what PT thinks it's doing when it does this. If it had the brains to throw us a clue sometimes that'd be helpful. IOW, perhaps PT could occasionally "help us to help it"...


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com