Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Omni monitor cable question (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=297683)

abt 03-24-2011 08:26 PM

Omni monitor cable question
 
Greets. I was just reading through a few reviews (even the manual) for the HD Omni. Unless I miss understood it talks about it being a monitor controller and that you can connect two sets of monitors using a MAIN and ALT paths. Looking at the physical connections on the back it has two monitor outputs TRS out 1 and 2. How do you physically connect a second set of monitors?

Bill Denton 03-25-2011 03:37 AM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by abt (Post 1771909)
Greets. I was just reading through a few reviews (even the manual) for the HD Omni. Unless I miss understood it talks about it being a monitor controller and that you can connect two sets of monitors using a MAIN and ALT paths. Looking at the physical connections on the back it has two monitor outputs TRS out 1 and 2. How do you physically connect a second set of monitors?

You have to use the DB25 connector for the additional outputs. Probably you would want to get a DB25 to TRS cable to accomplish this.

nst7 03-25-2011 06:32 AM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
That's correct. If you're looking for a good brand, try Mogami:

http://backstage.musiciansfriend.com...483345.product

Cheaper brands would be things like Hosa, etc.

And also, besides being able to switch between monitors, you can configure the unit to be a monitor controller for 5.1 or 7.1 surround as well.

abt 03-25-2011 02:15 PM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
Thanks. Yes, I see it now. I must admit I missed that reading through.

DaveBCC 05-14-2011 09:06 AM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
Or you could actually connect your 2 TRS outputs to a monitor controller, and have that route out to multiple speaker pairs. Even if you're using the DB25 connector to access all 8 outputs, you might want the other 6 for routing to external hardware?

A monitor controller would be something like this:
http://www.vintageking.com/Coleman-Audio-M3PH-MKII

nst7 05-14-2011 09:39 AM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
Good point Dave. A Dangerous Dbox would also be another good solution, though a little more expensive.

abt 05-14-2011 03:45 PM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
Yes, but the omni is supposed to act as a monitor controller.

Bill Denton 05-14-2011 05:06 PM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
I'm afraid you guys are looking at this backwards...

Alt is not intended to switch between two separate sets of monitors.

It is intended for use when two separate monitor mixes are being generated, one for the Control Room, and another that might be fed to a studio or to a client listening area.

Alt is used to allow the engineer to listen to and adjust this "studio" mix while in the Control Room, eliminating the need for the engineer to run back and forth between the "studio" and the Control Room to check the "studio" mix.

This is thoroughly covered in the Omni manual...

abt 05-14-2011 06:50 PM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
Thanks Bill. I've got to say I disagree with your use of the word "thoroughly" lol

Hmm.. I thought playback was either through MAIN or ALT but what your suggesting is that they would playback simultaneously? This would be basically useless for A+B monitor comparison.

If this is the case I'm not really sure where this application would be useful for. My understanding was that the omni was designed with the smaller setup in mind, control room and tracking space all in one type environment, not someone with a separate control room and tacking room.

abt 05-28-2011 07:25 PM

Re: Omni monitor cable question
 
If you set the ALT monitor format to match the MAIN monitor format then set the analog out to different outputs for for each then it works. This will only work with up to sets two sets of 4 speakers as there is only 8 outs. For a stero guy like me its perfect.

You can't use analog out 1 and 2 on the ALT monitor as they are always active.

In my case, two sets of stereo monitors I've got one pair hooked up to the TRS outs on analog out 1 and 2 and one pair hooked up to the DB-25 to TRS cable (I already had one which was handy) via out 3 and 4.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com