Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   ProTools trying to Install on the wrong Hard Drive (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404094)

Eriias 04-12-2019 05:48 AM

ProTools trying to Install on the wrong Hard Drive

3 Attachment(s)
Hello,

This is my first time using this forum for ProTools. Please forgive me for not having all of the info listed on the 'before posting' page, but I don't think most of it is relevant since I haven't gotten the program to finish installing yet, but I'll provide what I can/know

Windows 10
Asus laptop (not sure what model)
ProTools 2018.7

So, the problem is summarized in the three images attached. Basically, my computer has 2 hard drives, the C drive which is rather small and basically full, and the E drive which has plenty (100+ gb) of free space.

Now, for whatever reason, ProTools is trying to install onto the full drive and not the wide open one. It then takes me to a screen where it claims I can change where things are installed, however I get nothing in the list. Nothing to select and no way to change how things are installed. If I click next, it just cycles backwards.

I don't know where to begin with this, to be honest. I downloaded ProTools via the Application manager, if that's relevant. Would it be better to download it from the Avid site directly and open it in the E drive itself?

I'm very new to all of this and not very tech savvy. That's something I'd like to change going forward, as I'm trying to learn to use this program in school. Any and all advice, whatever other info I need to provide (and if possible, where to find said info), and help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.
-Eriias

musicman691 04-12-2019 01:22 PM

Re: ProTools trying to Install on the wrong Hard Drive

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eriias (Post 2521937)
Hello,