Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ICON & C|24 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   control 24 studio headphone send issues (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=207089)

tom devilution 10-10-2007 01:18 PM

control 24 studio headphone send issues
 
hi guys. i'm in the process on building a studio and i'm a little fuzzy on how i should set up my headphones sends.

mac 8 core OS 10.4
control 24
192 i/o
96i i/o

D-Sub Snake from live rooms
96 Point D-Sub patchbay

8 channel 1/4 inch in/out headphone amp

i want to use the outputs of the 192 as my headphone sends but do i need the first two outs of the 192 to monitor the master 2 mix out? i don't have all me pieces yet but i'm losing sleep trying to do this in my head. how would you do it??? thanks.
-tom

Ron Fairchild 10-14-2007 01:35 PM

Re: control 24 studio headphone send issues
 
I also use a 192 I/O and a 96 I/O with my HD3 system. I reserve the 6 remaining outputs of the 192 for Hardware Returns and use the 96 outputs for 4 discrete headphone mixes. Works for me. I am sure there are other options. If I do not need Hardware Returns, the I use Outputs 3 thru 8 on the 192 for Mono "More-Me" sends for pesky vocalists and electric guitarists! Hope this helps... Cheers, Ron Fairchild www.ronfairchild.com

BaileyBass 10-17-2007 06:44 PM

Re: control 24 studio headphone send issues
 
hey,
I have a very similar setup to yours. i use the 96i/0 for cue sends (out to whatever headphone amps you are using) 1-8 on the 192 integrate nicely into the C24 and, with the control room monitor section, gives you a lot of flexibility. (PT Sources). For instance, I have different sets of monitors to which I can switch very easily. The "alt monitor" control sends out to 7-8... which I may send to a blaster, or whatever.. to reference mixes. I will print an alternate mix w/ outboard compression and send that out through 3-4.. and maybe send a cue i am adjusting through 5-6, so i can hear what "they" are hearing. all the while switching quickly in the monitor section. if you do any surround, well, the plot thickens. SB


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com