Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=135)
-   -   S1 knob always writing (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=408223)

cablenaute 01-27-2020 08:17 AM

S1 knob always writing
 
Hi,

I've been using the S1 for a few days now, but today it's having a strange behaviour.
The knob number 4 of the S1 behaves as if it was touched, so that it's sending automation even when Protools is stopped.
If I switch form AUX to PAN, it will write AUX or PAN without actually touching the knob.
Here is a video with Protools stopped…

żAny easy way to fix this?
Thanks.

robingshore 01-27-2020 07:36 PM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
A similar thing started happening to me. The fourth knob on my S1 keeps registering quick little phantom touches. The exact behavior changes from session to session. In a blank session that just has some empty tracks the knob will sometimes register a quick touch every time hit play. In an actual session with audio and automation data on the tracks things will really start going haywire and the knob will register a bunch of quick touches in rapid succession, like in the video from the previous post. It doesn't happen all the time, sometime the bad behavior will stop for a few minutes, then start again a little while later. I can't tell for sure, but it seems like it's at least partially related to how "active" the volume automation on adjacent tracks is

OAG 01-28-2020 09:00 AM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
Now that's weird, not because some of the rotaries seem to be faulty, but because it appears to be the same one every time.

My channel 4 is also constantly writing from the 4th rotary.

EddieJones 01-28-2020 10:56 AM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
Unfortunately this does sound like a hardware issue. Please contact Avid Customer Support to get the units replaced (and we can then get them back and see what's causing it)
https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

clivvy 01-28-2020 11:32 AM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
this is why i never buy a product when it first comes out could be a bad batch who knows was looking at S1 going to wait on till this bug is fixed!

Southsidemusic 01-28-2020 01:49 PM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by clivvy (Post 2552467)
this is why i never buy a product when it first comes out could be a bad batch who knows was looking at S1 going to wait on till this bug is fixed!

Are the rumors true you hate to write punctuations and commas in your posts ;)

Darryl Ramm 01-28-2020 02:21 PM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by southsidemusic (Post 2552492)
are the rumors true you hate to write punctuations and commas in your posts ;)

oh come on he used an exclamation point

Darryl Ramm 01-28-2020 02:33 PM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
Oh well that last post was posted all caps, in an attempt to be funny. Looks like the DUC police state have turned off all caps.

That almost as annoying as the ******* swear word blocking. or the modsecurity blocking that stops folks being able to post actually useful shell scripts on DUC.

But I refused to be repressed, all future posts here will be via linked jpegs...

http://www.darrylramm.com/OH_COME_ON.jpg

:-)

Southsidemusic 01-28-2020 02:35 PM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
:D

Indeed he did!

soundworthy 01-31-2020 10:10 PM

Re: S1 knob always writing
 
Pot 4 on my S1 is moving all the time,
impossible to work
Set it to a blank strip.

Seriously, this is the replacement for the S1 I received 2 weeks,
replaced due to hardware quirks.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com