Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Tracking Latency (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=102836)

seawell 04-10-2004 08:39 AM

Tracking Latency
 
I have a session coming up where I'll need to track 8 - 10 tracks at a time. I can either use a Radar/Tascam DM24 rig or use the Radar in record mode as a stand alone converter and track into Pro Tools(via lightpipe out of Radar into Digi 002R). The Pro Tools rig is a Digi 002R into a iMac G4 1GHz w/ 1GB or ram. I would rather track directly into Pro Tools because of the ease of use but will the latency be too noticeable during tracking? Like I said I will only need to record between 8 and 10 tracks at a single time.

Phil71 04-10-2004 09:32 AM

Re: Tracking Latency
 
in those situations, i find it best to get your sounds happening, then let the band monitor the input path, not even listening to the digi output.
Low latency mode is usually okay for overdubs, but during rhythm tracks it can be a little bit slow.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com