Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been Moved (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=108184)

Matt_G 06-10-2004 06:29 PM

Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been Moved
 
Have any of you found this error or know of a work around? In Protools 6.X.X doesn't matter which version, if I have finished mixing a session & then move it into another folder (same drive) & I go to open it & play it I can see all the audio files but it will not play giving me a DAE error. I have tried re-assigning the audio file paths in the workspace window but nothing? Is this a commonly known error? Is there a simple fix? The only way I can get the session to work again is by moving it back to it's originally location. This scares me a bit because what if I back it up to DVD & restore it in the future to a different location or drive? Will it play? I am using Protools 6.4 with G4 867 & HD2. OSX 10.3.3. 1.2G RAM


DigiTechSupt 06-10-2004 07:15 PM

Re: Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been Moved
 
Hi,
What is the text of the error message that you are receiving?

Thanks
Digidesign Technical Support


Matt_G 06-11-2004 10:21 PM

Re: Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been M
 
Quote:

Hi,
What is the text of the error message that you are receiving?

Thanks
Digidesign Technical Support


I get a DAE Error -9035 everytime I hit play. Any ideas?

Thanks Matt

Matt_G 06-14-2004 07:33 PM

Re: Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been M
 
Bump.. Digi?

DigiTechSupt 06-14-2004 07:59 PM

Re: Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been M
 
Hi,

There is a 31-character limit for all Pro Tools file names. Trying to open Pro Tools files with names longer than 31 characters
will result in a DAE error –9035.

There is a 31-character limit for all Pro Tools session folder names. Trying to play a session whose parent folder is longer than 31 characters will result in a DAE error –9035.


I have also seen this when a drive is almost full or very fragmented. Try saving the session to a different drive that is less fragmented. To do this, go in Pro Tools to File>Save Session Copy In and save a copy of the session. Be sure to put a check in the box for "All Audio Files" in the "Items to Copy" section.

Thanks,
Digidesign Tech Support

Matt_G 06-15-2004 12:14 AM

Re: Error Playing a Session Folder That Has Been M
 
Ok thanks, that makes sense as the folder I put the session into did have a long charachter name. Is this quirky little bug going to be addressed in the next point release?



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com