Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=397062)

oscar_wonderboy 02-08-2018 02:36 AM

Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch"
 
Hey guys, I can't get the video engine to run properly, when I try to enable it from the "Playback Engine" menu, it just says "Waiting for the video engine to launch".

I have googled a lot (it seems to be a fairly well known thing) and tried various things: (Deleting the "workspace" file from shared/users, Deleting Avid Quicktime engine from shared/users, force quitting the avid quicktime app from activity monitor etc, but nothing helps...) Anyone had the same experience and solved it? PT 11.3.0, OSX 10.12.6

:confused:

BScout 02-08-2018 02:47 AM

Re: Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch"
 
Why are you on Sierra?

ProTools 11.3.0 does not support Sierra. Only can go up to Yosemite. so... good luck :confused:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

oscar_wonderboy 02-08-2018 02:55 AM

Re: Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch"
 
ah ok, didn't realize. But the weird thing is that it has been working up until a few days back. So it def works on Sierra.

oscar_wonderboy 02-08-2018 03:02 AM

Re: Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch"
 
Never mind, upgraded to PT 2018

oscar_wonderboy 02-08-2018 03:55 AM

Re: Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch"
 
Problem still persists, even though I ”upgraded to PT 2018...

YichenWang 08-14-2018 02:22 AM

I sort of have a solution, but it doesn't work 100% of the time
 
It's worth a shot tho.

If you are on Mac, then make sure that you don't have Elmedia Video Player.(And never reinstall that **** ever again.)

That's step one.

Then delete AvidVideoEngine folder, which is located at Macintosh HD>Users>Shared>AvidVideoEngine. Then reboot your machine.

Go to avid.com, download the Pro Tools installer, open it and go to the "Codec Installers" install the codec, then launch Pro Tools application., go to Playback Engine, try to enable the Video Engine.

sometimes you need to switch your Playback Engine to a secondary option (something like, HDMI) then switch it back to your Audio Interface alone with the Video Engine.(This step is kinda superstitious, I don't really understand the reason behind this, but I'd better write it down!)

Hope that will work for you.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com